We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Allerdale Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Allerdale Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Excellent food in an attactive restaurant. However, the evening meal was ruined by the staff opening the cellar trap door in the middle of restaurant several times during the meal.

The room was comfortable but was directly above the function suite. Fortunately, the function ended by 11pm.

The hotel is in a great location close to the Lake District and the coast.

Room Tip: Probably better at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    84
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
127
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Had a fabulous weekend in Cockermouth, The Allerdale Court Hotel was simply wonderful. The bed was the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in, the food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff could not have been more helpful, I will be back for more.

Room Tip: Room 205 facing the market square was surprisingly quiet and HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I it was a beautiful comfy room we stayed at the Allerdale for one night with my husband it was our first wedding anniversary Ballons were on our breakfast table in the morning Staff were very helpful ..... would deffinatley recommend to anyone val

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Plus points
Lovely staff,Nice manageress very Available, Nice building,Great Location,Good Breakfasts,Nice fireside bar.

I loved our stay in Cockermouth


Negatives
Very noisy room (fans from restaurant act like a megaphone) Old decor (not charming old fashioned/just old),No bar snacks or food-restaurant only.Put us in an old twin bed room because didn't get external booking info-not good on 1st wedding Anniversary. Was advertised as Dog friendly but with the noise,and no bar food it wasn't ideal for our Puppy (she never slept) They allow dogs but they aren't catered for although the owner loves them. Plenty of local places do food and cater for dogs.

Will definitely rent a cottage next time -Allerdale would be fab for just an overnight stay but not a romantic break at all xxx

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and don't book externally
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights for my boyfriend's birthday and a little pre-schristmas trip and it was lovely. cockermouth's christmas lights are very pretty. we took our yorkshire terrier and were greeted with mince pie and mulled wine when we arrived, which we were too tired to have but it was lovely all the same. We rarely eat in the hotels we stay in as we like to try local resturants but the bistro there was lovely, we had some drinks in the lounge until we were ready to eat. we had fleetwood fish pie and stirloin steak (not together) and they were both fab meals. the staff were very friendly. the parking was just opposite and there was always enough space to load and unload and we only paid £5 for parkign and were friday evening to sun afternoon. we stayed in room 2004 which has a four poster bed which was very comfy and was a very nice room. would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in cockermouth. great value too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kezzalou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.5 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
5.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.6 km away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.2 km away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allerdale Court Hotel

Property: The Allerdale Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Price range (per night): RM520 - RM614
Hotel Class:3 star — The Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your The Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing