We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent group accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
simonmcke...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent group accommodation”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We had a large party (nearly 30 people, a mix of adults and children) and the Big White House was absolutely ideal accommodation for us all. The rooms are all quite basic but clean and the house has a lot of character. It is in a quiet location but it very handy for a lot of the sites in the Lakes. The House itself was very well equipped and everyone who attended agreed that this was the best accommodation of this type that we had been to. We would definitely return and would look to attend during the summer months so we could make use of the garden area. We also hired a hot tub for the children and this was also very good. I think that the Big White House is excellent value for money and compares very favourably with hotels, B&B's or caravans that are available in the area.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsLawren...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for a large group”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We took a group of adult students to the house for a residential weekend. The house had plenty of space for everyone and it was amazing to all sit at the same table to eat. The kitchen is well stocked with large pans, plates, mugs etc so made cooking and eating a pleasure. I would definitely recommend it to a friend or to other tutors looking for somewhere quiet to go for a residential

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelawM7...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Get Together”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Big White House was the perfect accommodation for our family get together. It was very clean, well laid out and had lots of dishes, glasses and cutlery to accommodate our party of 20. It's central location is great for getting out and about, the enclosed large garden makes it perfect if you have young children or dogs. We will certainly consider staying again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“An exellent house for a relaxing stag party”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is huge, and I don't think that the pictures do it justice! We booked this place for the week and I think I speak for us all when I say we had a really good time. I've just checked out of rehab and thought it was time to write a review haha, as a week is a really long time for a stag party! The house is situated around 12 miles away from Workington, which when we got there on Tuesday we were informed by the nice young lady at the bowling alley that "everything decent to do in town is closed until Thursday". So we went to the nearest Tesco for supplies and made our own entertainment back at the house.

On the Saturday we had a walk along to the next village which was around a 15 min walk. There are a couple of pubs which we tried. The Masons Arms had very nice, reasonably priced food and was quite a quiet place...until we arrived and about 10 mins later a hen party from Newcastle arrived which made things interesting for the next hour or so and defiantly livened the place up.

All in all, a great house in a great location and would recommend both this house and the pubs down the road!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The big White House is an excellent house for large gatherings.. Plenty of ensuite rooms and sitting rooms make this an ideal base for a family get together

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$435
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing