We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excelent place”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage
Cosy lounge
Cosy Lounge
Log Burner alight.
Wall View
The Log Burner on Full Coal, Real hot!
Bedroom
Bedroom
Newly fitted Double shower in Revamped Bathroom
Newly fitted Kitchen
Rear area, however, tree no longer there.
View from front of cottage
Sunset over Allonby beach
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ralphy0
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excelent place”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

comfy clean and very well equipped .welcome pack was yummy wine,cheese,homemade bread etc.cant recommend the place enough ,ideally located 15 mins to the coast 20 mins to the lakes,had a great 3 days and will definately be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Hi Ralph. Thanks for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage. So glad everything was satisfactory for you. Thanks for leaving the cottage neat and tidy on your departure, always a bonus for me! You will be most welcome to return anytime. best wishes, Chrissy and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillpenk2...
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed for two nights. Lovely cottage everything you need in a quiet location. Chris & Christine made us very welcome a lovely couple. The welcome pack is second to none even Sally our dog wasn't left out treats for her left. We loved every minute. Would recommend to anyone. Perfect holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Only negative is the steep stairs which some people would struggle with.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Hi Gill. Thanks for your kind words. So glad you all had a good holiday. It was a pleasure to have you stay. You even managed to bring us some good weather. You will be most welcome to return anytime in the future. Hope you managed to see your friends in Ullswater and good luck for the appointment tomorrow. Hope all goes well. Best wishes, Christine and Chris. (Mulder and Polly)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our stay in Stable cottage was amazing. We got a lovely warm welcome from Chris and Christine when we arrived, showing us around and telling us about the local area and good places to go. The welcome pack was amazing with butter, milk, eggs, cheese, wine, wonderful chutney and marmalade (we bought more when we left!) and some delicious bread and fruit loaf which was still cooling when we arrived! The cottage was clean and comfortable, brilliantly stocked kitchen and a lovely cozy place to spend time. We did lots of exploring of the lakes including Keswick, Allonby and Cockermouth which are all nearby and the cottage was a nice relaxing place to come back to at the end of the day. We would highly recommend the stable cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing friendly place for a holiday, and are looking forward to coming back in the future. Thank you again Christine and Chris x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful charm of the cottage and great place to relax after a day of exploring!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thanks Kate and John for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable cottage, so glad you enjoyed it. The Lake District is indeed a wonderful place to explore and although our cottage is a little off the beaten track, we think we are near enough to the wonderful scenery and lakes of the Northwest, without being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of busier places. The Solway Coast is only 10 minutes drive away from here and has many walks and beautiful scenery to offer. Thank you for such a great recommendation and we hope to see you at Stable Cottage again in the not too distant future. You will be most welcome! Best wishes, Chrissy and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Mari...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Easter weekend at Stable Cottage. Very warm welcome from Christine and Chris. The welcome pack was fabulous and included home made goodies from Christine of bread, cake, hot cross buns and jams and chutneys. That was as well as the milk, butter, eggs, bottled water, wine and 2 Cadburys crème eggs! The cottage itself has everything you need - in fact we had a problem with the TV picture and Chris bought a brand new TV for us!
The location is very good. Easy to get to a variety of places by car and the village of Gilcrux is only a mile away so is a pleasant walk to the 2 local pubs which both serve very good food.
The only thing that needs to be pointed out are the very steep stairs that you have to descend backwards so anyone with mobility problems beware.
Other than that we would thoroughly recommend Stable Cottage and we certainly intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome pack and comfy bed.
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thanks Anne for your kind words after your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage and so glad that everything was to your liking. As we said, we are in the process of altering the stair case as we realise it is a bit on the steep side. As for the television, Chris was just waiting for an excuse to buy a new one, a more up to date one with a dvd player combined. We hope to see you again in the future and you will be more than welcome.
Best wishes, Christine and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B
1 review
“Warm welcome!”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Clean,got everything you need,quiet,comfortable. great starter "goodies" Excellent hosts.just take care on the stairs (as explained on booking)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
Thanks June for your kind words. So glad you knocked at our door to book your stay, it was our pleasure to have you with us. We were extremely interested in all you could tell us about Stable Cottage and Wardhall Gate from your time spent growing up here. Hope all continues to improve with the family and if you are in the area again, please do come and knock at our door. You will be most welcome. Best wishes, Chrissy and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$86
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing