We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern, lovely break.”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and modern, lovely break.”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We got a two night bed and breakfast offer for this hotel off travel zoo. We followed advice from other reviews not to trust the sat nav and printed off the directions for when we entered Kendal to get to the hotel.

After parking in the very tight underground carpark, we got our key and went to the room. The room was a very generous size and modern. A very comfy, non squeaky bed, a big flat screen tv and excellent tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom, not a bad size, bath and shower. We even got the nice little freebies - shampoo and moisturiser! Our room overlooked the river, gorgeous view. It was hot when we went so we had the widow open all night, there was a fair amount of road traffic, but nothing major.

Breakfast involved full English - fried bread, beans, scrambled egg, fried egg, sausage, bacon and black pudding. There was also the usual fruit juices, cereals, jam and toast. Very good!

Things to do in the surrounding area: we drove to the Lakeland motor museum, where we got a joint ticket, where a taxi picked us up and took us to lakeside for a boat ride on lake Windermere for £14.75 each. It takes you to where beatrix potter world is. Then, taxi picks you back up and takes you back to motor museum.

Kendal itself is a pretty town, not too much to do. You can walk up to the Kendal castle ruins for a lovely view. The river Kent which the hotel room overlooks is pretty as well. Plenty of little cafes and restaurants.

Food: in the evening we found a gorgeous Turkish istanbul restaurant! When modern, don't be put off if you go in the week if it's quiet. Very traditional food, lovely! The second night we found an average Italian, nothing to rave about. In the day we went to a traditional bakery, brought some amazing bread, the shop is called The staff of life.

Hotel spa: collect a towel from reception and lockers are free. The gym is quite small but has good equipment and helpful, friendly staff. The ladies changing rooms were clean, with hair dryer and even ghd straighteners! The shower cubicles doors are see through, with a misty glass, so didn't feel could shower properly in public, but not a major issue.

The steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were lovely and very clean. The pool is quite short in length, but still good. There were swimming lessons going on everyday, but not an issue.

Overall.....

The hotel is clean, been recently modernised, friendly staff, picturesque location and worth going!

Xx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylovesthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for this fab review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on our great value Travel Zoo deal and that you were able to enjoy the excellent attractions that the Lake District has to offer whilst you were here. We hope that you come back again soon to experience more of our fantastic area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    402
    176
    58
    27
See reviews for
175
574
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield,UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a lovely two night break at the Riverside. The location is excellent right in the town centre but having an off road car park as well. My wife and I found all the staff very helpful and pleasant. There was one thing which seems relatively small but I personally found a pain. There are around 10 rooms on each floor backing onto a beautiful river. It would appear that there is some sort of internal heating duct running up the wall between rooms 8 and 9 on each floor which made a dull water pipe banging noise on a continual basis. We were allocated room 008 initially but I found the noise so annoying during the first night that I asked for a room move(first time ever!) for the second night. Reception gladly obliged after I had explained the issue and gave us room 209, stupidly I never took the time to check if the noise affected that room thinking it would be OK as it was some distance away. That night the noise was evident in the left hand corner of the window whereas it was on the right hand corner of room 008. I am no engineer but the next day I viewed the outside of the hotel from across the river and noticed raised brickwork running up the wall between rooms 8 & 9 which has drawn me to my conclusion - I may well be wrong. This small matter really affected the quality of our stay, you can see where the "Chinese Water Torture" concept comes from. My advice would be if your room number ends in 8 or 9 check this doesnt affect you before you settle in.
Otherwise great place, great town and wonderful staff. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Please see comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked our two night stay via the £99 for 2 nights Travelzoo deal. This proved to be excellent value for money.
Our double room was on the first floor and a bit on the small side but it was clean, comfortable and well furnished. The hotel provided plenty of tea, coffee and milk in the room, much better than the usual couple of sachets found in most hotels - and there were loads of hangers in the wardrobe, too!
We didn't eat in the hotel, other than breakfast, which was standard 'full English' buffet. Nothing spectacular but a reasonable choice of food.
The staff at the hotel were pleasant & helpful and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for this lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the stay and were happy with the facilities that we provide. We hope that you stay with us again on your next visit to the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

First class 3 night break at this hotel.
The food was excellent and the service was great too.
The General Manager Helen Clark is such a lovely person. Nothing was too much trouble and she is such a great worker. (Senior Directors Take Note).

The small team of staff are all true professionals.
We thank you ALL for a great break and look forward to staying with you again.

Room Tip: I was told that all rooms have a river view. So there shouldnt be any problems. When booking your me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicurianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
What a fantastic review, thank you very much! Helen and her team will be very pleased to hear that all their hard work is appreciated and that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Had a lovely 3 course evening meal at the Riverside hotel, food was excellent, service good and atmosphere lovely. They even took taste card so we got 2 for 1 only costing us £25 for 2 three course meals (drinks on top) would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for window seat overlooking the river, nice outlook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you very much for this lovely review of our restaurant. We really appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed the meal and hope that you will come back and dine with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
39.4 km away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
9.4 km away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
12.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price range (per night): RM519 - RM858
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing