We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I'm not very happy with our stay at Crooklands. The was mildew in the bathroom and the room and fitting looked tired. The toilet seat was very loose and moved when you sat on it.

The bathroom tiles were dirty and there was what looked like mold on the ceiling. The surround to the soap holder in the bath was covered in black mildew. There were cracks in the grouting on many tiles in the bathroom.

The double room cost £90 and to be honest it was no better than a cheap bed and breakfast. Also bear in mind there are no night porters in the hotel so if you have ANY problems you will be on your own.

It wasn't all bad as we were given a friendly welcome by the reception staff and it was no problem in check in early however a friendly smile cannot mask the dour odour of damp in a bedroom/bathroom.

If you do stay at Crooklands you need to ask reception for one of the better rooms. Please stay away from rooms 4, 5 and 6 because these room are in the area to the left of reception (by the lift) that suffers from damp. The other side of the hotel is much better. I am posting photos of the offending mill dew and mould so that you can see the problem for yourself. Mold on walls and ceilings can make people ill so I am surprised that Crooklands would risk the health of guests. I had a quick look in one of the good rooms and it has a plasma tv on the wall and newly fitted bathroom, fantastic bed etc and it did not smell of damp.

I did complain about the room but all they could do was give me a two pound discount.

Crooklands you are Crooks!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 546 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

Rooms are very clean and decorated nicely. There was some confusion over the price paid, although staff quickly adjusted the price to the correct amount. Service was good.

I didn't get very much sleep due to the smoke alarm flashing really brightly and the room was too hot. The water in the cold taps was warm which was a little annoying.

Free wi-fi was great, plenty of car parking available in a safe location. The restaurant food was very good. It would be great if the bar stayed open later for residents rather than close at 11pm.

A good location and accommodation was good quality, but this is probably the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaycationsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Booked some weeks prior to stay and asked for a superior room at standard price which is what I got. Arrival was friendly and welcoming. Sandwich and coffee a bit expensive at nearly £8 but filled time until my room was ready.
Room was nice and comfy, with large bed and plenty of space. Rear facing so very quiet too.
TV was a bit small by modern standards and channel hopping took some working out.
Bathroom good size with good shower. A shaving mirror would have been useful.
Dinner was excellent. Really tasty with good local dishes.
Breakfast was also good but does not start until 7:30am so was a bit hurried as I had to be in Kendal for 8am.
Enjoyed my stay, as all staff were really friendly and helpful. Prices were slightly on the high side and if staying outside of business I would be haggling for some more inclusive deals if available.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zurichHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
8.6 km away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
25.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
23.6 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,095 reviews
14.3 km away
Clare House
Clare House
#9 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
69 reviews
9.6 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Address: | Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: RM480 - RM605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing