We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to catch up with friends”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ashstead Farmhouse

Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Dinning room, seating for eight and a High chair if required.
Dinning room
The Kitchen, accessed down one step from the dinning room, there is also a door leading outside.
Downstairs toilet and sink
Stairs from the sitting room
Landing
Pink double bedroom
Pink double bedroom
Bathroom, electric shower above the bath.
The view from the cairn on Ashstead Fell
Borrowdale between Shap and Tebay.
Walk from Ashstead to High Barrow Bridge
Leicester ewe with her quads
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to catch up with friends”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Myself and 7 friends stayed at Ashstead recently and absolutely loved it! Coming from Manchester, the location (surrounded by hills, sheep and chickens!) was just perfect and we all felt instantly relaxed. The house was a great size and had everything we wanted. The owner was a star and really made sure we enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Ching...
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect house for the family”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We, of three generations, totally enjoyed our stay at Ashstead Farmhouse. We were visiting Lake District, and decided to stay on this farm, just some miles away from most of the attractions. The farmstay, with a breathtaking view all around, turned out to be a lovely attraction itself. Children fed the lambs, picked chicken eggs and hung out with the friendly cats - all in a breathtaking Special thanks to Harold, who showed us around his chicken farm and educating us on farming. It was a pity that we missed the sheep shearing this morning, as it had to be postponed due to the rain.

We arrived late at night and was insecure while travelling along the dark narrow roads. Fortunately, the GPS sent by Helen was spot on. There were two little gates to open, and a warm greeting by a group of sheep, before we reached the lovely white house.

House is beautiful, spacious, very clean and well-equipped. Thank you very much, Helen, for your thoughtfulness. Will certainly come back here if we come back to Lake District.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi L
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely holiday farmhouse”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ashstead Farmhouse. It has large living and dining space, which allows family to spend time together. Peaceful and quite place, with gorgeous view of the rolling hills. Made many wonderful memories there. Definitely would recommended it to anyone travelling with family or in a larger group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoulouBlu...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great retreat for visiting family in Kendal”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked this cottage to visit family for a party in Kendal. It was perfect for our needs, two double bedrooms and a bedroom with two bunk beds for the children. The cottage is set on a working farm with picturesque countryside views, the only noise you hear is the gentle baaing of the sheep. Be careful, if you leave the windows open the cats will join you! The cottage was very spacious with lots of sofas and clean on arrival. Our only criticism is that there was no hook for towels/clothes in the main bathroom and there were no baking trays in the kitchen or replacement bin bags. However these were only minor problems and we will definitely be back when we're next in Kendal.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amer A
1 review
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was a lovely and comfortable stay. Every thing in the house was up to our expectations. The landscape around is breathtaking. We will certainly do it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$179
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing