We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Holmescales Cottage, from the lane - one of a pair of traditional farm cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmescales Cottage, from the lane - one of a pair of traditional farm cottages.
Sitting room - woodburning stove, dining table, sofa, books and games. Sitting room - woodburning stove - lovely and cosy, whatever the weather.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Holmescales Cottage, from the lane - one of a pair of traditional farm cottages.
Sitting room - woodburning stove, dining table, sofa, books and games.
Sitting room - woodburning stove - lovely and cosy, whatever the weather.
Sitting room - dining table for 4, TV, sofa, and views across lane to fields.
Sitting room - showing sofa and bookcase with board games, and stairs.
Downstairs hallway - newly painted. Useful cloakroom/WC on ground floor
Hallway leading through to kitchen, rear porch and utility room with all facilities.
Brand new kitchen - double oven, gas hob, dishwasher, microwave, fridge, freezer, rear laundry room.
Kitchen, with views onto garden.
Main bedroom with double bed and antique furniture. Rural  views to fields across the lane.
Main bedroom - antique furniture (wardrobe, chest of drawers, Arts and Crafts bed) TV, books.
Main bedroom -showing window
Lovely rural view from the main bedroom. Shetland ponies graze in the field across the lane
March 2015 - view from main bedroom window, Holmescales Cottage
Main bedroom, looking across hallway to second bedroom.
Twin bedroom, overlooking garden and fields.
Twin bedroom - two 3-foot single beds, with TV/DVD player and lovely views to garden and hot tub.
Very pretty half-panelled bathroom with Victorian freestanding bath (shower over) WC and basin
March 2015 - garden showing hot tub on right.
March 2015 - view of cottage from hot tub
Lower part of garden, showing cottage - dining furniture, BBQ and chiminea for outdoor fires.
Front door facing lane.  Enter through the gate on the right.
March 2015 - view across the lane, from the cottage gateway.
August 2015 - breakfast in the cottage garden (next to the hot tub) with horses in field.
1st April 2017 - lovely way to start the day x
April 2017 - view of garden from the bathroom.
View from kitchen window. April 2017.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MartynT98...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Catherine has been wonderful in her approach to the rental of Holmescales which is always the first hurdle. Once we had arrived, we found the cottage to be exactly as described and Catherine continued to be helpful and fountain of local knowledge. The cottage itself is very comfortable and clean. A bit of a whizz in the kitchen, it was nice to find properly stocked cupboards with all required utensils along with clean, modern and easy to use appliances. Hot water a plenty, with a lovely bath and shower. The real treat to Holmescales is the Hot Tub and views from it. Easy to use, warm and spacious, it really sets Holmescales apart from the competition. Our stay was truly wonderful and we will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Quality
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tisha72
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a 3 night stay at
Homescales. Friends who had been recommended and returned with us. Could not recommend more highly. Every detail about the cottage is perfect. Can't wait to return again, perfect weekend in a beautiful cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A cosy and charming cottage in stunning countryside”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

All you could wish for in a traditional farmer's cottage. A cosy and lovely place to stay and explore the Lakes. We especially enjoyed the lovely hot tub, sipping wine while looking at the stars! We will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick Z
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place for a getaway!”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We visited Holmscales for 2 nights and in truth we wished we'd booked an additional night. Very tranquil and relaxing. Hot tub is added bonus. Great for winter months. Cupboards/fridges are packed with additional condiments for that 'home comfort' experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3kabo
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“The ideal cottage to escape life, a real retreat.”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014

For me this is a magical place, you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, the peace and tranquility is just amazing. You are surrounded by nature, and some lovely walks can be had from the door, but Kendal is only a 10 minuite drive away and Asda will even deliver your shopping if you dont want to leave.
There is a beautiful little sitting room with a lovely log burner, a downstairs toilet, a kitchen that has everything you could want. a large fridge freeze and another freezer ,tvs in the lounge, and both bedrooms (flatscreen) and internet, a beautiful garden which my dogs so throughly enjoyed, and now with a hot tub. A beautiful bedroom with beautiful furniture and a small twin room, but my favourite part was having a bath over looking the garden.
I plan on going every year to this wonderful place, and it would not matter what time of the year you went, it would always feel inviting. I would be happy to just stay in the cottage and never go out and just chill out but then you would miss out on all the wonderful place in the lake district which is just so accessible.from the cottage.
For people who have dogs like me, its a dream for them, plenty of garden to run about, and safe. There is even a area from the garden you can dry off your dogs before letting them into the house.
I have stayed in other place in the lake district but this has to be the best in terms of facilities, accessability,peace, tranquility,pure bliss. The owner has left nothing to chance, and is very helpful and accomodating. There is lots of information, in the cottage about the area, some away from the main tourist places if you want to escape that, and some great recomendations of places to eat and shop. There is a range of games and books for your use.
Part of me does not want other people to find this little gem cause if i could go there 6 months of the year i would. I cannot recomend this beautiful cottage highly enough, i am counting off my days to my next trip there in July cant come soon enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, but especially the garden, hot tub,the bath overlooking the garden,log burner
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again in July.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing