We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pub”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 156 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional lakeland gastro pub. Great ales. Fine wines. Stunning food..extensive menu reasonably priced. Friendly welcoming staff. Dog friendly in the bar. Children welcome. Beer garden. Front outside tables with beautiful views. Open every day. Please book for food to avoid disappointment
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Great food and very dog friendly as well never miss
Going here when in Keswick
Can recommend the steak and ale pie and the fish pie really nice you will not be disappointed + great selection of ales

Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks for your review. Our food is all cooked from fresh and of the best quality.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018

Our family loved this place, eating outside on a warm Keswick evening. Each of our meals was very good, and the service was friendly and prompt. Good choices of ales and cider on draught. For us, this was a much better choice / far better dining experience than Fellpack, which we found to be terribly over-rated.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for the review. Please you enjoyed your meal. Please visit us again soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

The Pheasant Inn is a traditional old pub, with the interior tastefully decorated. Located in a picturesque village with beer garden having views of the local countryside.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming, giving a choice of seats to choose from.

Menu had plenty of options to suit all tastes. When the food arrived it looked fantastic and tasted delicious. Desserts were equally as delicious as the mains.

Would definitely visit again and recommend to all.

1  Thank Mand789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed uour meal and surroundings.

Thanks again and please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Ate he in June after recommendation from the B&B we were staying at and we were not disappointed. A short walk out of the center and well worth it as food was delicious. I had the salmon and my husband had the duck both were very well presented, service was good even though it was busy and we would definitely eat here again and have no hesitation in recommending. Lots of pubs to eat in Keswick but after trying many of them have found they are usually mediocre at best and ridiculously expensive for the small portions they serve.

Thank LynneBaz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience.

Thanks again and please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

I phoned the Pheasant Inn last night around 8pm to check what time they stopped serving (9pm). The man on the phone was perfectly pleasant and we were looking forward to the dinner based on the reviews.

Once we arrived, it was clear the place was packed and woefully understaffed. I spotted a couple of empty tables, however a sign said you had to enquire at the bar to be seated. There was a big queue at the bar, so I enquired with a member of staff who was clearing a table as to whether there were any available. He told me he didn't know, and he was too busy to check as they were understaffed. Not a great start.

We continued to wait at the bar and when it was our turn to be served, a man who the barmaid referred to as a regular said something along the lines of "Sit down if you're eating because I want a drink." The barmaid said something else at the same time and I couldn't follow, so I asked her to repeat herself. She looked exasperated and told us to just find a table in a very condensending and rude tone and gave us some menus. We left afterwards as I felt very put out and I'm disappointed that somewhere with amazing recommendations for food could be such a let down.

4  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHELLE G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for your review. On the night in question the Pheasant Inn was as you say 'packed' as we are an extremely busy lakeland pub renowned for its food and ales. All the staff were busy all night and when you arrived there was a queue at the bar of people waiting to be seated at the tables which were being cleaned after previous diners had just left. We have spoken to the staff in question and they did say they were busy and didnt know but as soon as they had seated the booked guests they would check availability for you. Our barmaid is certainly never rude and condensending and was actually quite upset as there seemed to then have been a misunderstanding between you, her and the regular. The regular was part of a group of local contractors who actually said 'sit down if you want to eat because we have finished and only want a drink'. He was helpfully vacating their table in order for you to be able to dine with us!
We apologise that you felt the need to leave and write your review this way. We would have preferred that on the night you had asked for management and we could have intervened and prevented the confusion in a busy bar. We do have amazing food and hopefully you will return to the Pheasant Inn and see it for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing