We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Comfortable, lovely location, exceptionally...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patsy N
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable, lovely location, exceptionally clean home”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Orchard House is in a lovely location; pretty village, with an outlook over fields, front and back. The sheep to the rear were a constant source of amusement! Even though the house was located on the main road through the village it was extremely quiet and peaceful; as we live in the South-East this was a real break from the hum-drum of everyday life! My sister is House-Keeping Supervisor for a local disabled charity and the one thing that stood out for her, was how clean the property was. This was a nice change and one the owner should be highly commended for!! One small fault was the damage to the bath panel in the master bedroom bathroom, but otherwise the home was extremely comfortable. We did have an issue with the heating one day of our trip, but a quick email to the owner had this rectified in under an hour, so once again thank you very much Craig for your kind consideration and quick response.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeyFlin...
Valletta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday house in a super village.”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We enjoyed Orchard House so much we ended up booking another week ! The house is so cozy and well equipped - great wifi - Sky tv - lovely comfy beds and super walks from the door . Add in an excellent local pub and incredibly friendly locals and we were in holiday heaven, we had excellent communications from the owner and are already planning our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Orchard House we really appreciate it. We hope that you can visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very pleasing”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a good location with views out of front and back, although in October we didn't sit out much due to the weather.

The rooms are all massive - the upstairs lounge is probably the same floor area as the entire downstairs of my house, while here there is still a very large bedroom next to it. It was great having 2 separate living areas for the family to use as well as the bedrooms - plenty of quiet time to ourselves between the business of our lives.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Orchard House we really appreciate it. We hope that you can visit us again in the future. Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm M
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A excellent spacious house with superp views both front & back”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Orchard House with our son, daughter in law and two grandsons. This accommodation was ideal as my wife and I had the spacious upper bedroom, with ensuite & double aspect lounge. My son and is family had the double & twin bedrooms with family bathroom with the ground floor television set on children's programmes and sky programmes on the 1st floor television. Greystoke is a pleasant village, with good facilities and in easy reach of all of the lake district and all the spectacular passes through the high peaks. We read all the excellent reviews before we booked our holiday and have to agree with all the 5 star reviews . A really good holiday despite some chilly weather

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Wi-fi & 3 televisions
Liked least: There was nothing that we were unhappy with
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed with the wife and kids for half term and must say what a fantastic house for a family to stay in.upon arrival house was spotless and welcome pack was great plus everything explained plain and simple.superbly situated for exploring lakes and never more than a hours drive from all best sightseeing places.shop in village was great and opens early but the village pub was one of the highlights with great food and some fantastic beers on offer.would highly recommend this house to anyone and will hopefully return next year.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing