We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good tours”
Review of Lakes Supertours

Lakes Supertours
Ranked #10 of 12 Tours in Windermere
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 September 2016

very good tour organisers for the day tours for touring around the lake district.we have booked the hotel also with them and the stay was pleasant :)

Thank Arundhati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Arundhati,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We very pleased you enjoyed your tour with Supertours and that you found Lakes Lodge a pleasant place to stay.
We hope we shall see you again for another stay and tour with us.
again many thanks

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016

We booked this tour as a last minute decision and are we glad we did. We took Tour B, Twelve Lakes Tour including places associated with Beatrix Potter and Wordsworth. We were met at our hotel by the tour bus at the appointed time. We stopped briefly to take care of paperwork and then we were off. This was an all day tour that gave us the most comprehensive and exhilarating introduction to the beautiful, wild, history laden Lake District. Our driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable, interesting, amusing, and never was at a loss to provide interesting anecdotes about the area along with historical facts and information about the geographical make up of the district. It should be noted that our tour guide was a brilliant driver, able to navigate the winding narrow roads with deft and ease - had we tried to do the tour ourselves, my husband wouldn't have seen anything, just trying to keep the car on the road without running into anyone else. If you want to see the Lake District - this tour is a Must Do.
I want to add, the day we went, the weather was not good - it was rainy and windy at times - it didn't matter - it just added to the rugged beauty of the Lakes and Mountains.

Thank Kcdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Maam,

Thank you for this lovely review. It is gratifying to know that our drivers are doing a great job whatever the weather and road conditions.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your day out with us. Taking you and your husband on this tour and showing you the Lake District was a pleasure for us also.

We hope we shall see you again.
Thank you again for choosing Lakes Supertours.

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Today we did the Lakes Supertours tour "Rocky Mountain High Spectacular" which is a tour of the more remote parts of the Lake District taking in Hardknott Pass, the Roman fort, the Ravenglass railway, Muncaster Castle (including the fabulous bird of prey show)' and constant stunning views of the mountains, valleys and coastline. Although we have our own car for touring, we chose to take this particular tour, and are really pleased we did. Why? (1) Tricky, narrow, stone-walled, mostly unsigned roads (unlike us, the driver knew exactly where he was going at all times) (2) no parking hassles/costs (3) local knowledge for such things as where to stop for great photos, best way to maximise the time. We spent a day with the guide and returned both unstressed and happy after a very satisfying day touring. The 38 pounds each was totally worth it.

Thank Brisbane_traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

The minibus driver drove very fast with very intense speed-ups and downs, which made me sick and vomited. I'm really sorry for this but the vomiting thing just happened in a second and was really out of my control. The driver keeps blaming on the way back with no sympathy and were helpless, even when I said sorry and promised to clean up. He said ' I'm not allowed to be sick.' Also, the driver kept making inappropriate jokes about cultures.

5  Thank Yu Peng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Mr/Ms, Yu peng L,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your tour with us . The main reason being because you were sick. This is nothing to do with the driver and in these rare cases the drivers are always very upset because in these circumstances the driver always gets the blame. I am sure he stopped the bus for you and allowed you to recover somewhat before proceeding. The driver cannot do much more. Stop the bus , some fresh air, a drink of water and move to the front seat. No driver likes people being sick on his bus for several reasons. The embarrasment for the victim and for the discomfort of other passengers and also the delays as a result.
As for driving fast with very 'intense' speeds in itself lends itself to 'exageration' in that these roads, in the Lake District, are very narrow, winding, hilly etc. and as a driver one has to slow down very quickly when necessary even when speeds of only 20 to 25 mph are reached. None of Supertours drivers have ever been prosecuted for speeding, driving without due care , driving recklessly etc. in my 16 years here. In short the prospect of anything like that is very remote because of the very restrictive road conditions. On the main roads where the speed limit is 70 mph the buses are restricted, by law, to 50mph, and maximum speed limit is impossible.
Had things been as bad as you say then everyone on the bus would have been sick and we would have been involved in multiple accidents. Non of these thing ever occurred so we are a bit upset by this review.
As for the driver making inappropriate jokes about other peoples culture; on deeper investigation into this I find that the remarks were made with reference to the Roman presence here 2000 years ago, with the history of the English language being derived, in part, from the Roman latin, the Viking presence and the names of places and features of the Lake District being given Viking adjectives which still stand and with reference to Castle Rigg Stone Circle and it's probable purpose during Druid times.
If you must blame anyone for your weak travelling capacity it would very nice not to blame everyone else and invent things.

Thank you for this review but I find it all totally nothing to do with Lakes Supertours.
You would have said the same of any tour company you had travelled with.

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Took us around a wide range of lakes/mountains including places like Hardknott Pass which I really don't like driving over these days.
Interesting and informative guide - good weather included at no extra cost - would go again, even on the same tour.

2  Thank Janrogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes Supertours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Supertours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing