We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Mountain High Tour”
Review of Lakes Supertours

Lakes Supertours
Ranked #10 of 12 Tours in Windermere
Attraction details
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We loved this tour. We visited part of the lakes that we hadn't previously been and the scenery was spectacular. We loved the railway ride and Muncaster Castle was a great place to stop for lunch. Driver, Andy was very knowledgeable about the area, and went out of his way to make sure we had a good time. We highly recommend Lakes Supertours for a great day out, especially this amazing tour!

Thank maxinelois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Dear Sir /Madam,
Thank you for giving up your time to write this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your day out with us and that next time you are in the area you will join us again for a different tour.
Once again thank you and we hope we shall see you again in the future.

regards
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Like a lot of other people, we decided not to tackle Hardknott Pass etc. ourselves and booked a last minute tour. We got Rob as our driver and wow, what a great experience. For one thing, he's been driving these roads all his life and just made the whole thing worry-free, even on the passes. He had lots of interesting information about everything from the distinctive 'belted' cattle we saw to the Roman history of the place. We stopped at Muncaster Castle, somewhere we probably wouldn't have been aware of on our own, and had a lovely time, especially during the Birds of Prey show. We made plenty of stops to take pictures and to drink in the spectacular views. And as others have said, my husband and I could just sit back and enjoy instead of worrying about the challenging drive.

Thank Renata H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Dear Renata,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour with us and yes Rob is a lovely guy, knowledgeable and knows the roads like the back of his hand; a perfect guide.
As for the adventure of seeing so many mountain passes and remote places, well this is why people like our tours so much.
Thank you once again and we hope we shall see you on your next visit to the Lake District.

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

very good tour organisers for the day tours for touring around the lake district.we have booked the hotel also with them and the stay was pleasant :)

Thank Arundhati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Owner at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Arundhati,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We very pleased you enjoyed your tour with Supertours and that you found Lakes Lodge a pleasant place to stay.
We hope we shall see you again for another stay and tour with us.
again many thanks

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We booked this tour as a last minute decision and are we glad we did. We took Tour B, Twelve Lakes Tour including places associated with Beatrix Potter and Wordsworth. We were met at our hotel by the tour bus at the appointed time. We stopped briefly to take care of paperwork and then we were off. This was an all day tour that gave us the most comprehensive and exhilarating introduction to the beautiful, wild, history laden Lake District. Our driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable, interesting, amusing, and never was at a loss to provide interesting anecdotes about the area along with historical facts and information about the geographical make up of the district. It should be noted that our tour guide was a brilliant driver, able to navigate the winding narrow roads with deft and ease - had we tried to do the tour ourselves, my husband wouldn't have seen anything, just trying to keep the car on the road without running into anyone else. If you want to see the Lake District - this tour is a Must Do.
I want to add, the day we went, the weather was not good - it was rainy and windy at times - it didn't matter - it just added to the rugged beauty of the Lakes and Mountains.

Thank Kcdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Maam,

Thank you for this lovely review. It is gratifying to know that our drivers are doing a great job whatever the weather and road conditions.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your day out with us. Taking you and your husband on this tour and showing you the Lake District was a pleasure for us also.

We hope we shall see you again.
Thank you again for choosing Lakes Supertours.

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Today we did the Lakes Supertours tour "Rocky Mountain High Spectacular" which is a tour of the more remote parts of the Lake District taking in Hardknott Pass, the Roman fort, the Ravenglass railway, Muncaster Castle (including the fabulous bird of prey show)' and constant stunning views of the mountains, valleys and coastline. Although we have our own car for touring, we chose to take this particular tour, and are really pleased we did. Why? (1) Tricky, narrow, stone-walled, mostly unsigned roads (unlike us, the driver knew exactly where he was going at all times) (2) no parking hassles/costs (3) local knowledge for such things as where to stop for great photos, best way to maximise the time. We spent a day with the guide and returned both unstressed and happy after a very satisfying day touring. The 38 pounds each was totally worth it.

Thank Brisbane_traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes Supertours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Supertours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing