We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average tour...”
Review of Lakes Supertours

Lakes Supertours
Ranked #10 of 12 Tours in Windermere
Attraction details
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Average tour, I would first try one of their competitors (E.g. mountain goat). More of a 'drive around' than a tour, but a cheap option to see the Lake District.

We booked a half day lake districts tour with Lakes Supertours in September 2017. We arrived on the day and waited outside of supertours, following instructions received via email. An individual (Andy) came out of the office and got into his own private vehicle. He then signaled through the window for us to come over and get in, without so much as an introduction or explanation as to what was going on. Once we went over to the car, he told us that he would take us to meet the full day tour half way. This whole process was unprofessional and made us feel uncomfortable getting into a strangers private car. Perhaps focus on the meet and greet as first impressions are important.

Throughout the drive to meet the rest of the tour, Andy made my girlfriend feel somewhat uncomfortable, putting his hands extremely close to her face/body as he pointed out various points of interest. Whether this was intentional or not, it did make her feel uncomfortable.

We then rejoined the tour after 2pm (despite start time being 1:15). However, the tour ran overtime which compensated for this lost time.

Our driver Steve was a very nice guy, but only pointed out animals, lakes and some historic buildings. He barely spoke for the duration of the 5 hours whilst on the bus. It would have been better if he had spoken to us about the history of the area and what we were actually looking at. We also barely stopped (boat cruise and two other times for a photo over approx. 5 hours). This was somewhat disappointing.

Overall, we were disappointed with the professionalism of this tour and with our tour guide being more of a 'driver' than a 'tour guide'. It is a cheap way to see the Lake District, but if you're after a tour experience, I wouldn't book with Lake Supertours again.

Thank DN1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Front Office Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Sir Madam,
Thank you for this review which we are not pleased with in that there are some inaccuracies here. Firstly it was not a private vehicle in which you joined the main tour but a small minibus. We took you out to join the tour and Andy did actually introduce himself otherwise how else would you have known his name?
The tour statred when Andy picked you up to start the tour at 1315 in Windermere and went through the various points of interest on the journey as part of the tour to Grasmere. How can you say Andy did not explain what was going on when you have said and I quote " he told us that he would take us to meet the full day tour half way. " This is standard practice for passengers on a half day tour. The driver of the full day tour, Steve, was on a tachograph and is required, by law, to take a 45min break at some point during the day. He could have come back to Windermere to pick you up but in doing so would have been in violation of the (Passenger Carrying Vehicle) driving laws under which all drivers must comply; and must be complied with by all passenger vehicle drivers and operators including the other company mentioned by you in this review. Lets be quite honest and practical here; we cannot operate any tour for only two passengers which is why we transfer passengers to a full day tour. The only other option is to cancel totally. Something we would never do if it is at all possible to operate the tour. We are professional and completely reliable in this aspect of our business.
Unless you had booked an exclusive tour, which you had not, it makes sense for afternoon only passengers to join the tour bus which is continuing on the tour which was booked by you if seats are available. This is called 'professionalism' despite what you may think and despite what you have written in this review and it goes a long way to help keeping costs down.
As you also state "Andy pointed out various points of interest on the way". To say your girlfriend was uncomfortable with this is ridiculous. To say, Andy, who is 70yrs old, was in any way interested in your girlfriend beggars belief and the very suggestion 'disgusting'. and you can be thouroughly ashamed for even thinking on these lines. Andy, quite rightly, is very upset by what you have said.
On the one hand you said Andy conducted the tour by saying and doing too much and on the other hand you say the tour driver, Steve, conducted it by saying and doing too little! What on earth are you talking about!!!!
So whatever we did and however we did it we could not have got it right!
We are not a cheap way to see the Lake District and you have contradicted yourself several times in this review by saying that. Actually we offer a very good and informed comprehensive tour which is 'by far the best value for money in the Lake District'. and is something in which we take pride.
You say you would not book with us again. I am sorry to learn that.
Before you write reviews like this again about any company pulling out all the stops and delivering an excellent product, like we did for you, rather than cancel altogether please gain some experience first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

My sister and I were picked up at our B & B by Steve, who we spent the entire day with. He was very informative about the area, and we had a great laugh with him as well. We will be using Lakes Supertours again when we return to the beautiful Lake District. Highly recommend!! Janet and Camille

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Janet,
Thank you for writing this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your day with us and everything went well for you. We will pass on your kind words to Steve the driver /guide.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the lake District.
best regards and thank you again.

Andy(manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We booked lakes Supertours on the advice of the manager at St John's Lodge and did a half day tour to Keswick, Grasmere, and the kells. Half day was enough for us. They pick you up at your place of residence. The van they used had a little more miles on it than we had expected. The driver, Steve, was a delight - an older gent who was a local. he knew everything about the area! Book with supertours and ask for Steve.

Thank jlschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Mr/Ms. Schulz,
Thank you for writing this review and we are pleased you enjoyed your day with us.
May I point out we do not use 'vans', the vehicle you were in was in fact a minibus
and fairly new. Steve, the driver is delighted you gave him a mention and says 'thank you'.
Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again if you are ever back in the Lake District.
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Don't get disheartened if you don't find reservations with Mountain Goat. I suggest that you book your day trips with Lake Supertours. We took Tour B as it had very different itineraries in the morning and in the afternoon. In the morning, we did the Wray's Castle, Beatrix Potter country tour and William Wordsworth's grammar school and grave. Our tour guide Phil drove us in a minivan and it was an intimate group that derived total benefit. After our lunch at Grasmere, we were greeted by Andy, an ex-mariner and the owner of the company who became our tour guide for the afternoon. He is armed with a lot of information and a fantastic sense of humour that kept us engaged. Overall, we are extremely satisfied with the 9-hour hectic sightseeing, that's ideal for people who are short of time.

Thank msunando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

When I was building up the trip at home, came to the conclusion that to get a good impression of Lake District in only one day, it would be much more effective to hire a tour than to rent a car or to make the trip in the various buses that ply the area. I had read, and then it was confirmed, that the roads are narrow and there is rather much traffic. I looked for a tour that visited strategic points of the National Park and would gave me the option of taking a boat trip. After reviewing the offer and with the advise of my future accomodation manager, I arrived at the conclusion that Lakes Supertours "Tour A Borrowdale" was the best option, both by itinerary and price.
The chosen day at 10 was I picked up at “home” in Windermere. The area visited shows a somewhat triangular figure of upper base, in the middle of which is Keswick, which works like sort of hub; lake Ullwater would be the upper right angle and Crummock Water the upper left angle; the lower angle is the starting point, Windermere. Under a changeable cloudy sky but with acceptable visibility we crossed Kirkstone Pass and took a look at the small beautiful Lake Brotherswater, then we stopped on the shore of the long lake Ullswater, with a remarkable perspective towards the South. We detoured north through Troutbeck to Keswick and, without stopping here, down Borrowdale Valley to Ashness Bridge and Surprise View, from here a splendid panorama of lake Derwent Water northward. We returned to Keswick for lunch according with one’s tastes. It is a very lively market town thanks to the commercial and gastronomic activity.
The second part of the itinerary began with a boat ride through Derwent Water under a light rain; after several stops we finally joined again to the minibus. Southbound initially, again following the Borrowdale Valley, we reached the Honister Pass between rocky peaks with abundant green tapestry. We Continued to Lake Buttermere and its neighbor Lake Crummock. A new session of curves took us east to the Moss Force Waterfall. Returned to near Keswick to reach the Castle Rigg Stone circle, more humble than Stonehenge but alike historically and culturally valuable. Already taking the way back to the starting point, we went through Grasmere, stopping at Dove Cottage to remember the poet William Wordsworth and to taste the delicious Gingerbread. Then along Grasmere Lake and just down Rydal Water we crossed the market town Ambleside and caught sight of Windermere Lake. Finally it took place the distribution of travelers by their accommodations.
In short, a great tour to get a good idea of the region with its lakes, mountains, villages and cattle, to stroll through a bustling city, to stop over a megalithic monument and to meet people from other places outside UK, all that under plenty of explanations of our driver and guide Mr. Andrew Dobson. The forests by the lakes were not yet too green, in fact rather brown; I think that in more advanced spring they should look nicer, not to mention autumn . There was no snow. Great value for the price.

Thank Armando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewd101282, General Manager at Lakes Supertours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,
This is a great and lengthy review so thank you very much for your time in compiling it. You certainly seem to have enjoyed the tour and taken in much of what the lake District has to offer.
Once again Thank you and we hope we can be of service again if you are ever visiting the Lake District in the future.
I am pleased to inform you after a few days of rain everything is green again.
regards

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes Supertours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Supertours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing