We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Holehird Gardens

Holehird Gardens
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Holehird Gardens, home of the Lakeland Horticultural Society, 12 acres of volunteer-run stunning gardens, open every day of the year & a partner garden to RHS. Our Visitor Information office is open daily from 10.00 to 16.00 from April to the end of October.
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

A real gem of a place one mile off the main road to Ambleside and was featured on the BBC local news last week. All done by volunteers so a donation on entry is requested. We took a leisurely stroll around and even now, as the year draws to a close, there was plenty to see. So many varieties of plants and stunning displays. We will return next year in early summer for another visit.

Thank Gibsons88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walled garden"
in 48 reviews
"horticultural society"
in 32 reviews
"national collections"
in 23 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 20 reviews
"for sale"
in 16 reviews
"wonderful garden"
in 8 reviews
"blue poppies"
in 4 reviews
"coffee machine"
in 4 reviews
"flower beds"
in 4 reviews
"full bloom"
in 7 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 16 reviews
"langdale pikes"
in 7 reviews
"plenty of seats"
in 6 reviews
"stunning views"
in 17 reviews
"lake district"
in 25 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 6 reviews
"car park"
in 8 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

With some directions in hand, I drove out to see the Gardens, but had some trouble finding my way. Eventually, I got there and all the stress was forgotten . What a beautiful haven in the midst of rather spectacular scenery. this was genuinely one of the highlights of my trip. I highly recommend it.

Thank 611mariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolehirdGardens, Public Relations Manager at Holehird Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

So pleased you found your way! Do come again as the gardens change constantly with the seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The guidebook “The Best of Britain” described this garden favourably. That was the reason we went there and we are so pleased that the guidebook highlighted it to us as we were not disappointed.

1  Thank Ultron-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolehirdGardens, Public Relations Manager at Holehird Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

If you are visiting the Lake District and you like gardens then Holehird Gardens is a place you must visit. Maintained entirely by volunteers the gardens are a tribute to the hard work putting in by the members of the Lakeland Horticultural Society. We spent around 4 hours looking round the walled garden and the surrounding gardens and were amazed at the variety of plants, colours and beautiful vistas. There are tea and coffee facilities on site but if you want to make the most of your visit take a packed lunch!

Thank chillman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolehirdGardens, Public Relations Manager at Holehird Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Please come again soon, the gardens look different every week and we're open all year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My mom and I were looking for a way to enjoy the outdoors and spend a half day in Windermere and so we decided to walk to the Holehird gardens - SO GLAD WE DID. The gardens were incredibly beautiful and offered many points of outlook over the hillsides and Windermere mountain areas. We went on a Wednesday around 11:00 so we were able to enjoy a guided tour by one of the volunteers who was both friendly and knowledgable on the garden areas. It was such a special garden that is poured into by so many volunteers that give up their time to come and work on and care for the gardens.

1  Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holehird Gardens also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holehird Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing