We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with amazing views!”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #39 of 71 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 October 2021

Visited on Saturday for a spot of lunch. No queue and we were lucky enough to have a window seat overlooking the lake. Very friendly and professional table service. Food was lovely and good value for money. Would definitely return!

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank mrsbumps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

Popped in here for lunch while on our day out on Windermere Lake and we really enjoyed our meal, we both had a chilli con carne jacket potato which was ample in size and was tasty! We also had lovely views of the lake while enjoying our food

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank nicoleechelseaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2021

We were in here three days out of seven. This alone tells you the food is good. The first meal included plaice which had overdone breadcrumbs, but we were reimbursed for that. Otherwise our food from the visits was delicious. Korma, roast beef, roast turkey, lasagna. Not a problem with any of it. Definitely enough in the way of portions.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2021

1st visit 22 September lunchtime We both had a roast Beef & Turkey Could not fault 10/10 You choose type of potato and veg As with all places we have eaten roast never enough gravy for us but no problem here they gave us 2 extra helpings when requested & no charge not like others £10.95 bargain
Excellent waiting staff, good beer Reasonably priced
Lucky enough to get window seat stunning views
In these strange times this pub is hot on cleanliness the toilets are spotless no sharing of sanitizer
Will be back again hopefully before end of week

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank EuniceB317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2021

We managed to get an outside table for Sunday dinner. We both had the beef roast (I would have had turkey but it had run out by 7pm).
Loads of meat and a good size yorkshire pud but only 3 roast potatoes and a small spoonful of mixed veg. Very small portions compared to our previous visits the last 2 years.
We also had desserts and these were good.
You order the food at the bar, no table ordering.
I had a sandwich when I got in as I was still hungry.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Food
Thank hummer_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.