We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,660)
Filter reviews
1,660 results
Traveller rating
1,034
390
145
61
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,034
390
145
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room scones course meal classic room afternoon tea swimming pool on arrival lovely hotel high standard bay window my partner cream tea booked this hotel lake district breakfast and dinner restaurant staff log fire
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 1,660 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

After spending a great deal of time researching what hotel to stay at for a 3 night holiday to The Lake District with my husband and 9 week old baby we decided on the Hillthwaite Hotel and were not disappointed.

We were advised on booking to upgrade to a classic room as the cosy rooms were very small and there would not be much space for a travel cot. More expensive but definitely worth it when we realised how much baby stuff we had to bring and we were grateful for the extra space.

Check in was quick and most staff were friendly. Although not all acknowledged you when walking past reception. We stayed in room 1 on the ground floor. This room was lovely with a nice king size bed (2 singles pushed together) and a level access shower in the bathroom. The bathroom had lovely lighting and there was plenty storage space for all our clothes as well as a pram, travel cot, steriliser and changing mat. There was adequate plug sockets which were easily accessible for phone chargers next to bed. Sometimes it's the small things which help the most. A home away from home this room was ideal for all our needs.

The swimming pool was excellent, very clean and quiet. Staff offered to turn the temperature up for our little one to go in.

There was a lovely lounge area and conservatory where you could go and relax and look at the views over the lake. The decor was modern and nice. Breakfast was good. A mixture of cooked meals and continental choices. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

The hotel had

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank KarenG1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthehill, Guest Relations Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear Karen G,
First of all, thank you for being our 1,000th TripAdvisor reviewer!
We really appreciate you choosing the Hillthwaite for your recent stay. It’s great to hear that while researching online our hotel stood out to you as ideal for your requirements. We strive to ensure the rooms booked are going to be ideal for our guests needs and are happy to hear you took our comments on board when making your booking. We hope to see you and your family returning to the hotel soon. Once again thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards,
Lydia Howard
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

I booked an Autumn Escape here for my wife's 70th birthday after receiving a E Mail from I know travel.It was a 2 night stay in a cosy room, breakfast and evening meal and a bottle of house wine on arrival £298.00.I never saw the house wine.and these cosy rooms are small to say the least ,On my side of the bed I had 2 feet clearance and the wife had 3 feet.with 3 feet along the bottom.the tea tray is under the small TV table, with no where but the floor to be able to use it on.there was one small window in the room and the view was of a white brick wall and more hotel roofing.there was a small built in wardrobe for hanging clothes and 3 small drawers. The best part was the bath room which I cannot grumble about.the evening meals are all nuvo cuisine.I really think if the hotel is using these rooms for the basis of selling these Autumn Escapes they should really let people know what rooms for the price it entails,and give people the chance to either upgrade if they can afford to or the chance to look elsewhere, so as not to spoil there break.And to add, I have read where people say this hotel is spotless, well all I can say is I think someone should be told to get a duster and start dusting because you can write your name on the bannisters.

Room Tip: be sure you know what rooms you are getting
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank brianpublican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthehill, Guest Relations Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear brainpublican,
Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Hillthwaite. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the room type booked, we hope you will still consider us for any future trips to the Lake District. Please call us directly for our best rates and we will be able to discuss the different room types with you. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Lydia Howard
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This was our second visit to Hillthwaite and since our last visit the hotel has undergone some refurbishment, this has been well worth it and has really enhanced the experience; however we were prepared to return because we had enjoyed the food and the excellent service given by all staff and that has not changed. To have staff acknowledge you as you pass through a room or reception can make all the difference to how welcome you feel and you certainly feel that you are welcome and they wish to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible and they achieve that; the food once again was excellent. Well done Hillthwaite a relaxing and enjoyable stay and helped by great responses to any little requests without question.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthehill, Guest Relations Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear Helen H,
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear it was your second stay and that you liked the new refurbishments around the hotel. Here at Hillthwaite we do pride ourselves on a creating a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. It’s the small things, like acknowledging our guests around the hotel, which we too find can make all the difference. We hope to see you back at the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Lydia Howard
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the De Quincy suite and
both felt that the accommodation was first class, comfortable and luxurious. The view over Windermere was particularly marvellous. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the evening and a good breakfast the next day.  All staff were very friendly and welcoming and we left having thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We would positively recommend the
hotel to others for people looking for a comfortable luxurious stay while enjoying a visit to the lakes.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SeanO1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthehill, Guest Relations Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear Sean O,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your stay in the De Quincey suite. It is great to hear that you recommend us to other potential guests and hope to see you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Lydia Howard
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We booked on line on the advice of friends who had stayed several years ago and although a little more costly than we had anticipated, we had a very pleasant stay, enhanced by glorious weather which apparently is untypical of the Lake District.

Our room, which may have been classed as superior, was quite spacious with nice bathroom and comfortable bed. The view was disappointing,being of a bank topped by the car park.

Pool was a little too small but good sauna and steam room, but changing facilities inadequate

Service was very good and all the staff were helpful and the dinners offered good choices of well-presented and tasty food. Supplements were required for several options.

Breakfast was excellent with tasty local produce and choices of options, including mix-and-match.

In summary, a very enjoyable break but overpriced for time of the year and a revisit would depend on a good deal being available, with plenty of alternatives in and and around this location and further afield

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Positively4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthehill, Guest Relations Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear Positively4th,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and always like to hear we are being recommended through friends. The weathers quick changing temperament is renowned for so we are glad to hear you were able to enjoy the lakes in all its glory. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding the restaurant, we pride ourselves on good service and quality food and are glad to hear that contributed to excellent meals during your stay. We have some great offers on packages coming up, please feel free to call us for our best price if you return to the area in the future.
Kind Regards,
Lydia Howard
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews