We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St John's Lodge(Windermere)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Howbeck(Windermere)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Elleray(Windermere)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,607)
Filter reviews
1,607 results
Traveller rating
999
380
138
60
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
999
380
138
60
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealswimming poolclassic roomon arrivalafternoon tealovely hotelhigh standardcream tealake districtmy partnerbooked this hotelrestaurant stafflake viewbreakfast and dinnershort break
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,607 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had a one night stay here, and could not fault it. Superb views from our room and also in the bar, restaurant and terrace. Warm welcome from reception and staff could not have been nicer. we had the evening meal included in our deal and the food was loverly. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Loverly views from the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 771deb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My husband booked the 2 night dinner and breakfast package for our anniversary and we stayed in one of the occasion rooms as a treat and a treat we had x on arrival
We were greeted with cream tea with beautiful warm scones,asked about what time we'd like dinner , first impressions were really good!
Our room was above expectations , we were given room 15 which was the one we liked best on looking at the pictures on the website ! It was spotlessly clean very spacious and the bathroom was really impressive ! Colourful changeable lighting , a stand alone bath, waterfall walk in very spacious shower , and best of all aqua tv !
We were greeted by dining staff wishing us "happy anniversary" which was a nice touch ,Dinner was amazing and service by zuzanna and all catering staff were amazing they were all friendly and very professional! When ordering drinks we were well Informed as to our choices and made to feel very special x as this was an anniversary my dessert came with writing wishing us happy anniversary this was lovely !
The facilities, food, location ,all members of staff are friendly, professionals who make you feel your in good hands ! Our room was amazing and the one we wanted x we also received a card too and complimentary bottle of wine ! Windermere lake isn't far at all from this hotel, also a ferry service if you want to cross the lake , there are boats to go on at marina at the bottom of the village ( which is a lovely walk ,very quaint village) even the boating staff are friendly, !
Overall can't fault anything here ! We loved our stay and rate this place very highly ! Thank you to all staff for making us feel special on our special occasion !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Suzannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Our family party had 4 rooms for 3 nights. We took the Dinner B and B package which really was very good value, including an excellent 3 course dinner. The hotel is well located with good views, on nice weather days, and excellent facilities including swimming pool, sauna and steam room. The staff were professional and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We were booked into another hotel and when we arrived there at almost six o'clock. they had had an electrical failure. They managed to locate accommodation at the Hillthwaite Hotel. We had got up early for a funeral and I was driving further than previously with a new knee - so really weary. The staff made us very welcome and relaxed sitting in the bar with the magnificent view over the lake and fells beyond and the sun going down gradually.We enjoyed our dinner. We had a very spacious and immaculate room with a slightly different view, but still of the lake.

Well rested we left after an excellent breakfast to get the best out of another sunny Lakeland day. The mist rose gradually with the warmth of the sun. I cannot imagine a better location for the wonderful view over my beloved Lakeland,

We noted their terrace and would make a point of coming back for coffee/tea/light lunch on that terrace on some future visit, if not to stay.

Room Tip: Ideally a Lake View
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Close to everything you need in this beautiful part of the country. Spacious rooms and very very clean which is a must for this pricing. Warm welcome at reception and all the amenities we required when not traveling the area

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jack_A_The_Box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for posting your five star review relating to your recent stay at Hillthwaite. Your kind comments regarding the hotel, as well as the spectacular area we are situated in are much appreciated, and of course will be past on to the entire team. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews