We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Elleray(Windermere)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grey Walls Hotel(Windermere)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St John's Lodge(Windermere)
US$158
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Windermere Park(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Rest(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,607)
Filter reviews
1,607 results
Traveller rating
999
380
138
60
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
999
380
138
60
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealswimming poolclassic roomon arrivalafternoon tealovely hotelhigh standardcream tealake districtmy partnerbooked this hotelrestaurant stafflake viewbreakfast and dinnershort break
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,607 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

just had another fantastic stay at the hillthwaite again the staff were great and the food was brilliant went with family this time and they really enjoyed it as well weather not to good but didnt stop us getting about its not the lakes without the rain so they say looking forward to going in the new year after the big refurbishment missing the sauna and pool already hope all goes well with the refurb guys see you soon....tony & sandra

Room Tip: they have rooms on the ground floor if you cant climb stairs as there is no lift to upper floors
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank tonyjohno049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had a one night stay here, and could not fault it. Superb views from our room and also in the bar, restaurant and terrace. Warm welcome from reception and staff could not have been nicer. we had the evening meal included in our deal and the food was loverly. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Loverly views from the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 771deb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My husband booked the 2 night dinner and breakfast package for our anniversary and we stayed in one of the occasion rooms as a treat and a treat we had x on arrival
We were greeted with cream tea with beautiful warm scones,asked about what time we'd like dinner , first impressions were really good!
Our room was above expectations , we were given room 15 which was the one we liked best on looking at the pictures on the website ! It was spotlessly clean very spacious and the bathroom was really impressive ! Colourful changeable lighting , a stand alone bath, waterfall walk in very spacious shower , and best of all aqua tv !
We were greeted by dining staff wishing us "happy anniversary" which was a nice touch ,Dinner was amazing and service by zuzanna and all catering staff were amazing they were all friendly and very professional! When ordering drinks we were well Informed as to our choices and made to feel very special x as this was an anniversary my dessert came with writing wishing us happy anniversary this was lovely !
The facilities, food, location ,all members of staff are friendly, professionals who make you feel your in good hands ! Our room was amazing and the one we wanted x we also received a card too and complimentary bottle of wine ! Windermere lake isn't far at all from this hotel, also a ferry service if you want to cross the lake , there are boats to go on at marina at the bottom of the village ( which is a lovely walk ,very quaint village) even the boating staff are friendly, !
Overall can't fault anything here ! We loved our stay and rate this place very highly ! Thank you to all staff for making us feel special on our special occasion !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Suzannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Our family party had 4 rooms for 3 nights. We took the Dinner B and B package which really was very good value, including an excellent 3 course dinner. The hotel is well located with good views, on nice weather days, and excellent facilities including swimming pool, sauna and steam room. The staff were professional and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We were booked into another hotel and when we arrived there at almost six o'clock. they had had an electrical failure. They managed to locate accommodation at the Hillthwaite Hotel. We had got up early for a funeral and I was driving further than previously with a new knee - so really weary. The staff made us very welcome and relaxed sitting in the bar with the magnificent view over the lake and fells beyond and the sun going down gradually.We enjoyed our dinner. We had a very spacious and immaculate room with a slightly different view, but still of the lake.

Well rested we left after an excellent breakfast to get the best out of another sunny Lakeland day. The mist rose gradually with the warmth of the sun. I cannot imagine a better location for the wonderful view over my beloved Lakeland,

We noted their terrace and would make a point of coming back for coffee/tea/light lunch on that terrace on some future visit, if not to stay.

Room Tip: Ideally a Lake View
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews