We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible view from the room not what you expect for £180 per night”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Thought we were going for a luxury break paying a lot of money for a good hotel. How wrong was I. This hotel is not very clean the stairs were filthy the room and en suite were grubby. The view from the room was appalling. The service was mediocre at best although the head waiter in the restaurant was good. The food was Disappointing, do not order the grilled halloumi for Dinner, the only vegetarian option it was inedible. No one asked if we enjoyed our stay, no one asked if our meals were ok. Overall very disappointing and I will not be back.

Room Tip: Do not get room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

just had another fantastic stay at the hillthwaite again the staff were great and the food was brilliant went with family this time and they really enjoyed it as well weather not to good but didnt stop us getting about its not the lakes without the rain so they say looking forward to going in the new year after the big refurbishment missing the sauna and pool already hope all goes well with the refurb guys see you soon....tony & sandra

Room Tip: they have rooms on the ground floor if you cant climb stairs as there is no lift to upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tonyjohno049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had a one night stay here, and could not fault it. Superb views from our room and also in the bar, restaurant and terrace. Warm welcome from reception and staff could not have been nicer. we had the evening meal included in our deal and the food was loverly. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Loverly views from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 771deb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My husband booked the 2 night dinner and breakfast package for our anniversary and we stayed in one of the occasion rooms as a treat and a treat we had x on arrival
We were greeted with cream tea with beautiful warm scones,asked about what time we'd like dinner , first impressions were really good!
Our room was above expectations , we were given room 15 which was the one we liked best on looking at the pictures on the website ! It was spotlessly clean very spacious and the bathroom was really impressive ! Colourful changeable lighting , a stand alone bath, waterfall walk in very spacious shower , and best of all aqua tv !
We were greeted by dining staff wishing us "happy anniversary" which was a nice touch ,Dinner was amazing and service by zuzanna and all catering staff were amazing they were all friendly and very professional! When ordering drinks we were well Informed as to our choices and made to feel very special x as this was an anniversary my dessert came with writing wishing us happy anniversary this was lovely !
The facilities, food, location ,all members of staff are friendly, professionals who make you feel your in good hands ! Our room was amazing and the one we wanted x we also received a card too and complimentary bottle of wine ! Windermere lake isn't far at all from this hotel, also a ferry service if you want to cross the lake , there are boats to go on at marina at the bottom of the village ( which is a lovely walk ,very quaint village) even the boating staff are friendly, !
Overall can't fault anything here ! We loved our stay and rate this place very highly ! Thank you to all staff for making us feel special on our special occasion !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Suzannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Our family party had 4 rooms for 3 nights. We took the Dinner B and B package which really was very good value, including an excellent 3 course dinner. The hotel is well located with good views, on nice weather days, and excellent facilities including swimming pool, sauna and steam room. The staff were professional and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
504 reviews
1.3 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
4.8 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,105 reviews
5.2 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: RM577 - RM1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District, UK
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing