We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day stay in Lakes”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Hotel located about 3/4 mile from centre of Bowness, on top of hill with a view over Windermere. Parking was fine, staff all very friendly and room was clean with great view of the lake, room 16. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent, only slight gripe is that some of the tables are a little close to each other. Pool a decent size and sauna and steam room were all good. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 16 great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

My husband & I recently had Sunday lunch at this hotel whilst visiting the Lake District. We went there because we had a deal for a 3 course lunch plus coffee.
We had a window seat but found the temperature of the restaurant to be rather cool. We both had soup as the first course to warm us up on a rainy day. The roast main course was good & I enjoyed ice-cream for dessert whilst my husband chose sticky toffee pudding.
We retired to the lounge for coffee. Overall, an enjoyable Sunday lunch.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I booked this hotel whilst working away and knew I would be looking for a relaxing holiday. Neither of us were to be disappointed, the hotel has everything that you need and is located away from the busy parts of Windermere. The food for both breakfast and evening meals was excellent and the service was efficient without being over bearing. We had one of the Occasion rooms located in the part of the building slightly removed from the main part of the hotel but there is a covered access between the two parts, the room was well serviced on each day and cleanliness throughout the hotel was extremely good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrynuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Thought we were going for a luxury break paying a lot of money for a good hotel. How wrong was I. This hotel is not very clean the stairs were filthy the room and en suite were grubby. The view from the room was appalling. The service was mediocre at best although the head waiter in the restaurant was good. The food was Disappointing, do not order the grilled halloumi for Dinner, the only vegetarian option it was inedible. No one asked if we enjoyed our stay, no one asked if our meals were ok. Overall very disappointing and I will not be back.

Room Tip: Do not get room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

just had another fantastic stay at the hillthwaite again the staff were great and the food was brilliant went with family this time and they really enjoyed it as well weather not to good but didnt stop us getting about its not the lakes without the rain so they say looking forward to going in the new year after the big refurbishment missing the sauna and pool already hope all goes well with the refurb guys see you soon....tony & sandra

Room Tip: they have rooms on the ground floor if you cant climb stairs as there is no lift to upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tonyjohno049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
1.3 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
4.8 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,103 reviews
5.2 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: RM578 - RM1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District, UK
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing