We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillthwaite
Nearby Hotels
Windermere Park(Windermere)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howbeck(Windermere)
US$164
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$104
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Willowsmere(Windermere)
US$145
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St John's Lodge(Windermere)
US$142
US$138
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,580)
Filter reviews
1,580 results
Traveller rating
983
374
137
59
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
374
137
59
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealsmall poolclassic roomafternoon teaon arrivallovely hotelhigh standardlake districtbay windowmy partnerbooked this hotelcream tearestaurant staffbreakfast and dinnershort break
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,580 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Hotel located about 3/4 mile from centre of Bowness, on top of hill with a view over Windermere. Parking was fine, staff all very friendly and room was clean with great view of the lake, room 16. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent, only slight gripe is that some of the tables are a little close to each other. Pool a decent size and sauna and steam room were all good. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 16 great view of the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

My husband & I recently had Sunday lunch at this hotel whilst visiting the Lake District. We went there because we had a deal for a 3 course lunch plus coffee.
We had a window seat but found the temperature of the restaurant to be rather cool. We both had soup as the first course to warm us up on a rainy day. The roast main course was good & I enjoyed ice-cream for dessert whilst my husband chose sticky toffee pudding.
We retired to the lounge for coffee. Overall, an enjoyable Sunday lunch.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I booked this hotel whilst working away and knew I would be looking for a relaxing holiday. Neither of us were to be disappointed, the hotel has everything that you need and is located away from the busy parts of Windermere. The food for both breakfast and evening meals was excellent and the service was efficient without being over bearing. We had one of the Occasion rooms located in the part of the building slightly removed from the main part of the hotel but there is a covered access between the two parts, the room was well serviced on each day and cleanliness throughout the hotel was extremely good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrynuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Thought we were going for a luxury break paying a lot of money for a good hotel. How wrong was I. This hotel is not very clean the stairs were filthy the room and en suite were grubby. The view from the room was appalling. The service was mediocre at best although the head waiter in the restaurant was good. The food was Disappointing, do not order the grilled halloumi for Dinner, the only vegetarian option it was inedible. No one asked if we enjoyed our stay, no one asked if our meals were ok. Overall very disappointing and I will not be back.

Room Tip: Do not get room 21
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

just had another fantastic stay at the hillthwaite again the staff were great and the food was brilliant went with family this time and they really enjoyed it as well weather not to good but didnt stop us getting about its not the lakes without the rain so they say looking forward to going in the new year after the big refurbishment missing the sauna and pool already hope all goes well with the refurb guys see you soon....tony & sandra

Room Tip: they have rooms on the ground floor if you cant climb stairs as there is no lift to upper floors
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank tonyjohno049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews