We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Howbeck(Windermere)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Park(Windermere)
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Glencree(Windermere)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
US$188
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Green Gables Guest House(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,590)
Filter reviews
1,590 results
Traveller rating
985
378
138
59
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
378
138
59
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealafternoon teaswimming poolclassic roomlovely hotelon arrivalhigh standardbay windowmy partnerlake districtcream teabooked this hotelrestaurant staffbreakfast and dinnershort break
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,590 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

There is a great view of the lake. The hotel is an excellent location for exploring and very good value for money. There are leisure facilities which is a bonus if the weather is wet. We are in the English LAkes! The food was very good with a reasonable choice. Friendly staff. Good cocktail bar. The rooms are comfortable. Wifi ok though a little slow on occasion.

Room Tip: Best views in the main hotel on the front.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Gordon M, thank you for your lovely 5 star review of your recent stay at Hillthwaite. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay in the Lakes despite the weather! The indoor leisure facilities certainly help to ensure a relaxing break at the hotel - rain or shine. We hope to see you again. Many Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Celebrating a special birthday so booked a different hotel than normal.

Had an occasion room....lovely.....cannot fault it, comfy bed, we don't have a bath at home so to be able to soak in a lovely tub (which filled exceptionally quickly ) or use the walk in shower was lovely.

Ate in the hotel, good job really as it was pouring with rain every night. Spiced squash soup/brisket dish were two of the lovely choices.

Breakfasts were also very good. Staff very polite and helpful.

It was a little more expensive than we normally pay but would love to go back at some point.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sand_dollar_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at Hillthwaite and we hope following your visit you will choose to come and stay with us again. I will ensure to pass on your excellent comments regarding the food and the service to all the staff. You should now be on our email database so will receive plenty of direct offers and promotions ensuring you get the best price possible for a returning visit. Or feel free to make use of our 28 day return visiting offer which will give you a free room upgrade. Again thank you for your five star review. Kind Regards. E. Myers, House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We have stayed for 4 nights and can say all the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well decorated and the real fire in the lounge was a treat shame it was not lit in the evenings. Good situation and a nice walk to the lake not too far. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Chris,

thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are all very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Now the colder nights are setting in we will of course ensure that our log fire continues to be lit in to the evenings, as it certainly makes for a cosy atmosphere. Thank you again for your recommendation to other readers and we hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Kind Regards, E. Myers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Comfortable lounge and dining room, with pleasant decor. Good menu choice for evening meals. Well presented and hot. Good selection for breakfast. Rooms clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff.
Not so easy to find, we could see it on the hill, but drove up and down the road before we saw the sign for the hotel. Quite a steep hill and driveway to get there, but worth it when you get there. Great views over the valley and Windermere lake. Great value overall.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank-you for posting your five star review relating to your recent stay at Hillthwaite, it is always lovely when guests take the time to share their experiences, and we are all delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Glad to hear you felt the food choices were suitable, as we have recently updated our menus. As you say we always hope guests appreciate the view once you get up to us and hope the pre-arrival email with directions helped with your journey. We very much hope you will decide to come and stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards. Edward, House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful and romantic inn overlooking Lake Windermere. Had a fabulous week in a lovely room complete with a window seat view of the lake. Awoke to delicious breakfasts each day ranging from the full Cumbrian complete with bacon, sausage, mushrooms, beans and eggs to creamy porridge. Lovely buffet to complete your meal with fruit, pastries and juices. Even has an indoor swimming pool which we always seem too busy to get to but looks inviting nonetheless. Only weakness was refills forgotten by housekeeping which manager worked to remedy quickly. Was our second trip and hoping we return in years to come.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 997margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi 997margaret. Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Hillthwaite. Very happy to hear you had an enjoyable, and romantic stay and that the hotel led to you having a fabulous week in the Lakes. I will ensure to pass on your brilliant food comments to the chefs and sincerely hope we get to welcome you back some time in the future. The hotel is undergoing extensive refurbishment this winter so please feel free to come back and see the improvements, hopefully next time you will find the time to make use of the onsite leisure facilities. Kind Regards. Edward Myers, House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews