We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit to our favourite hotel”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Just returned from another visit to our favourite hotel. The Hillthwaite House Hotel is a friendly family run hotel, where you are made to feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. My husband and I were down to celebrate my fiftieth and the staff really made my day special. The food is exquisite and there was lots to choose from on the menu, the brisket and the sea bass were my favourite dishes. Compliments must
go to Marco and the restaurant/bar staff who cannot do enough for the
guests and made sure we had an excellent dining experience. The hotel
has good wifi connection and the lounge is cosy and comfortable to enjoy coffee in after dinner. Would highly recommend this fabulous hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose an occasion room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

There is a great view of the lake. The hotel is an excellent location for exploring and very good value for money. There are leisure facilities which is a bonus if the weather is wet. We are in the English LAkes! The food was very good with a reasonable choice. Friendly staff. Good cocktail bar. The rooms are comfortable. Wifi ok though a little slow on occasion.

Room Tip: Best views in the main hotel on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Gordon M, thank you for your lovely 5 star review of your recent stay at Hillthwaite. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay in the Lakes despite the weather! The indoor leisure facilities certainly help to ensure a relaxing break at the hotel - rain or shine. We hope to see you again. Many Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Celebrating a special birthday so booked a different hotel than normal.

Had an occasion room....lovely.....cannot fault it, comfy bed, we don't have a bath at home so to be able to soak in a lovely tub (which filled exceptionally quickly ) or use the walk in shower was lovely.

Ate in the hotel, good job really as it was pouring with rain every night. Spiced squash soup/brisket dish were two of the lovely choices.

Breakfasts were also very good. Staff very polite and helpful.

It was a little more expensive than we normally pay but would love to go back at some point.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sand_dollar_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at Hillthwaite and we hope following your visit you will choose to come and stay with us again. I will ensure to pass on your excellent comments regarding the food and the service to all the staff. You should now be on our email database so will receive plenty of direct offers and promotions ensuring you get the best price possible for a returning visit. Or feel free to make use of our 28 day return visiting offer which will give you a free room upgrade. Again thank you for your five star review. Kind Regards. E. Myers, House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We have stayed for 4 nights and can say all the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well decorated and the real fire in the lounge was a treat shame it was not lit in the evenings. Good situation and a nice walk to the lake not too far. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Chris,

thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are all very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Now the colder nights are setting in we will of course ensure that our log fire continues to be lit in to the evenings, as it certainly makes for a cosy atmosphere. Thank you again for your recommendation to other readers and we hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Kind Regards, E. Myers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Comfortable lounge and dining room, with pleasant decor. Good menu choice for evening meals. Well presented and hot. Good selection for breakfast. Rooms clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff.
Not so easy to find, we could see it on the hill, but drove up and down the road before we saw the sign for the hotel. Quite a steep hill and driveway to get there, but worth it when you get there. Great views over the valley and Windermere lake. Great value overall.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank-you for posting your five star review relating to your recent stay at Hillthwaite, it is always lovely when guests take the time to share their experiences, and we are all delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Glad to hear you felt the food choices were suitable, as we have recently updated our menus. As you say we always hope guests appreciate the view once you get up to us and hope the pre-arrival email with directions helped with your journey. We very much hope you will decide to come and stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards. Edward, House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.3 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,811 reviews
4.8 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: RM743 - RM1,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District, UK
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing