We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveller rating
1,006
385
142
60
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,006
385
142
60
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealswimming poolclassic roomon arrivallovely hotelafternoon teahigh standardcream teamy partnerlake districtbooked this hotelrestaurant stafflake viewbreakfast and dinnershort break
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Hotel in good location, we stayed in the Langdale room which was excellent, bathroom great and good view to Lake Winderemere. Hotel very well kept and staff friendly. Could be more choice at breakfast but overall food ok.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainham575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank-you for your great review and for taking the time to share this with others, along with your recommendation. It is much appreciated by everyone at Hillthwaite and we will take a look at what additions can added to the breakfast menu. Many thanks and see hopefully see you again. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel's ok for a few days and a great location for Windemere. On the negative side, the "lake view" from our room was massively exaggerated as we could just about make out a tiny patch of Lake Windermere, which was almost entirely blocked by trees and over 2 miles away anyway, that said the view itself was pretty! Be aware that you may need a sat nav to find it, there's no lift, the pool was cold and the breakfast buffet a bit limited. However, evening meals were all lovely, and the hotel is cosy, clean, modern and friendly, especially the restaurant staff. Overall a nice enough place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0rrie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Hi C0orrie9, thank you for taking the time to share your recent feedback regarding your stay at Hillthwaite. I am sorry we did not meet all your expectations, particularly with regard to the view from your room. Each of our higher end rooms, all of which are front facing, have varying aspects of the Lake. If you want a truly excellent view of Lake Windermere we would recommend room 16. Your comments relating to the food will most certainly be relayed to the chef, and we will see if we can increase the pool temperature from 30 Celsius to a little bit higher. Thank you for your other positive comments and we hope you will come back for another few days break. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Just returned from another visit to our favourite hotel. The Hillthwaite House Hotel is a friendly family run hotel, where you are made to feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. My husband and I were down to celebrate my fiftieth and the staff really made my day special. The food is exquisite and there was lots to choose from on the menu, the brisket and the sea bass were my favourite dishes. Compliments must
go to Marco and the restaurant/bar staff who cannot do enough for the
guests and made sure we had an excellent dining experience. The hotel
has good wifi connection and the lounge is cosy and comfortable to enjoy coffee in after dinner. Would highly recommend this fabulous hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose an occasion room with a lake view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

There is a great view of the lake. The hotel is an excellent location for exploring and very good value for money. There are leisure facilities which is a bonus if the weather is wet. We are in the English LAkes! The food was very good with a reasonable choice. Friendly staff. Good cocktail bar. The rooms are comfortable. Wifi ok though a little slow on occasion.

Room Tip: Best views in the main hotel on the front.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Gordon M, thank you for your lovely 5 star review of your recent stay at Hillthwaite. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay in the Lakes despite the weather! The indoor leisure facilities certainly help to ensure a relaxing break at the hotel - rain or shine. We hope to see you again. Many Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Celebrating a special birthday so booked a different hotel than normal.

Had an occasion room....lovely.....cannot fault it, comfy bed, we don't have a bath at home so to be able to soak in a lovely tub (which filled exceptionally quickly ) or use the walk in shower was lovely.

Ate in the hotel, good job really as it was pouring with rain every night. Spiced squash soup/brisket dish were two of the lovely choices.

Breakfasts were also very good. Staff very polite and helpful.

It was a little more expensive than we normally pay but would love to go back at some point.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sand_dollar_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at Hillthwaite and we hope following your visit you will choose to come and stay with us again. I will ensure to pass on your excellent comments regarding the food and the service to all the staff. You should now be on our email database so will receive plenty of direct offers and promotions ensuring you get the best price possible for a returning visit. Or feel free to make use of our 28 day return visiting offer which will give you a free room upgrade. Again thank you for your five star review. Kind Regards. E. Myers, House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews