We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food superb, rooms good although attention to detail could be better”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Lovely hotel situated high on a hill overlooking Lake Windermere so people with disabilities may struggle with steep slopes and steps. We ate in the restaurant where the breakfasts were superb, the dinners were good and they coped well with specific menu requirements. The rooms were comfortable with large double beds and individual armchairs. Some had views over the lake although ours did not. However, the bathroom was a little grubby with mildew on the window frames and the chrome work on radiator fittings having never been wiped for some time. The pool was small and shallow so swimming was difficult. However, the sauna and steam rooms were very pleasant and proved to be very popular with guests. We found the staff pleasant, accommodating and helpful so would recommend this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on ground floor as view restricted to car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stoneybroke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Stoneybroke22. Thank you for sharing your feedback with other TripAdvisor readers, your five star review of the hotel is greatly appreciated and we are all delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay at Hillthwaite. The positive remarks regarding both the breakfasts and evening meals will most certainly be shared with the chefs, and the room issues you had will be addressed immediately by our housekeeping team. Thank-you for your recommendation and we very much hope you will choose to come and stay with us again some time in the near future. Kindest Regards, all the Hillthwaite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Loved the ambience of the hotel and the staff very friendly. Nice walk into town from the hotel with lovely walks in the surrounding area. Lots to do in the area being on Lake Windermere. We spent the weekend there with our adult children and it was just lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Many thanks Edwina O for your 5-star review of Hillthwaite. It is wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel, and we very much hope you will make the decision to come and stay with us again. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Hotel in good location, we stayed in the Langdale room which was excellent, bathroom great and good view to Lake Winderemere. Hotel very well kept and staff friendly. Could be more choice at breakfast but overall food ok.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainham575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank-you for your great review and for taking the time to share this with others, along with your recommendation. It is much appreciated by everyone at Hillthwaite and we will take a look at what additions can added to the breakfast menu. Many thanks and see hopefully see you again. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel's ok for a few days and a great location for Windemere. On the negative side, the "lake view" from our room was massively exaggerated as we could just about make out a tiny patch of Lake Windermere, which was almost entirely blocked by trees and over 2 miles away anyway, that said the view itself was pretty! Be aware that you may need a sat nav to find it, there's no lift, the pool was cold and the breakfast buffet a bit limited. However, evening meals were all lovely, and the hotel is cosy, clean, modern and friendly, especially the restaurant staff. Overall a nice enough place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0rrie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Hi C0orrie9, thank you for taking the time to share your recent feedback regarding your stay at Hillthwaite. I am sorry we did not meet all your expectations, particularly with regard to the view from your room. Each of our higher end rooms, all of which are front facing, have varying aspects of the Lake. If you want a truly excellent view of Lake Windermere we would recommend room 16. Your comments relating to the food will most certainly be relayed to the chef, and we will see if we can increase the pool temperature from 30 Celsius to a little bit higher. Thank you for your other positive comments and we hope you will come back for another few days break. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Just returned from another visit to our favourite hotel. The Hillthwaite House Hotel is a friendly family run hotel, where you are made to feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. My husband and I were down to celebrate my fiftieth and the staff really made my day special. The food is exquisite and there was lots to choose from on the menu, the brisket and the sea bass were my favourite dishes. Compliments must
go to Marco and the restaurant/bar staff who cannot do enough for the
guests and made sure we had an excellent dining experience. The hotel
has good wifi connection and the lounge is cosy and comfortable to enjoy coffee in after dinner. Would highly recommend this fabulous hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose an occasion room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
1.3 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,811 reviews
4.8 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: RM747 - RM1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District, UK
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing