We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$169
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$340
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glencree(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Suites(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Park(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
All Seasons Rest(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,607)
Filter reviews
1,607 results
Traveller rating
999
380
138
60
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
999
380
138
60
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealswimming poolclassic roomon arrivalafternoon tealovely hotelhigh standardcream tealake districtmy partnerbooked this hotelrestaurant stafflake viewbreakfast and dinnershort break
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,607 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We have just had a really lovely weeks stay in a wonderful well positioned family owned hotel. The rooms are clean and tidy and furnished to a very high standard. We were able to take our little Yorkshire terrier with us; he was also made to feel very welcome with a special doggie pack on arrival. The Food choice changed every day and was superb, cooked well and presented nicely.
The Staff were so very friendly nothing was to much trouble to them. We would like to mention a special thank you to Kevin and Marco they both were very attentive giving that little bit extra but the whole team were great and very well trained.......thank you.
We will come back soon for another visit.
The views from the hotel are very special and even though the weather was not so good, we still had a memorable holiday in the lakes.
This hotel is a must to try if visiting the Windermere area perched very high with a wonderful view of the lake.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tonytinaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

May i start by saying a big thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback with other readers. It is a delight to hear you had such an enjoyable time at Hillthwaite, Yorkshire Terrier and-all. We always hope that guests leave feeling they have had the break they need, and its excellent to hear on this occasion we once again did not disappoint. Your kind words regarding Kevin and Marco, as well as all varying aspects of your stay - from the rooms to the food will most definitely be passed on to the team. We all sincerely hope you make a return visit to come and see us again in 2018, possibly spring time when we might enjoy some better weather. Many thanks. All the Hillthwaite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Lovely hotel situated high on a hill overlooking Lake Windermere so people with disabilities may struggle with steep slopes and steps. We ate in the restaurant where the breakfasts were superb, the dinners were good and they coped well with specific menu requirements. The rooms were comfortable with large double beds and individual armchairs. Some had views over the lake although ours did not. However, the bathroom was a little grubby with mildew on the window frames and the chrome work on radiator fittings having never been wiped for some time. The pool was small and shallow so swimming was difficult. However, the sauna and steam rooms were very pleasant and proved to be very popular with guests. We found the staff pleasant, accommodating and helpful so would recommend this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on ground floor as view restricted to car park
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stoneybroke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Stoneybroke22. Thank you for sharing your feedback with other TripAdvisor readers, your five star review of the hotel is greatly appreciated and we are all delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay at Hillthwaite. The positive remarks regarding both the breakfasts and evening meals will most certainly be shared with the chefs, and the room issues you had will be addressed immediately by our housekeeping team. Thank-you for your recommendation and we very much hope you will choose to come and stay with us again some time in the near future. Kindest Regards, all the Hillthwaite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Loved the ambience of the hotel and the staff very friendly. Nice walk into town from the hotel with lovely walks in the surrounding area. Lots to do in the area being on Lake Windermere. We spent the weekend there with our adult children and it was just lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Many thanks Edwina O for your 5-star review of Hillthwaite. It is wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel, and we very much hope you will make the decision to come and stay with us again. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Hotel in good location, we stayed in the Langdale room which was excellent, bathroom great and good view to Lake Winderemere. Hotel very well kept and staff friendly. Could be more choice at breakfast but overall food ok.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainham575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank-you for your great review and for taking the time to share this with others, along with your recommendation. It is much appreciated by everyone at Hillthwaite and we will take a look at what additions can added to the breakfast menu. Many thanks and see hopefully see you again. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel's ok for a few days and a great location for Windemere. On the negative side, the "lake view" from our room was massively exaggerated as we could just about make out a tiny patch of Lake Windermere, which was almost entirely blocked by trees and over 2 miles away anyway, that said the view itself was pretty! Be aware that you may need a sat nav to find it, there's no lift, the pool was cold and the breakfast buffet a bit limited. However, evening meals were all lovely, and the hotel is cosy, clean, modern and friendly, especially the restaurant staff. Overall a nice enough place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0rrie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Hi C0orrie9, thank you for taking the time to share your recent feedback regarding your stay at Hillthwaite. I am sorry we did not meet all your expectations, particularly with regard to the view from your room. Each of our higher end rooms, all of which are front facing, have varying aspects of the Lake. If you want a truly excellent view of Lake Windermere we would recommend room 16. Your comments relating to the food will most certainly be relayed to the chef, and we will see if we can increase the pool temperature from 30 Celsius to a little bit higher. Thank you for your other positive comments and we hope you will come back for another few days break. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews