We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel never disappoints”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Just returned from another stay at the Hillthwaite the food fab as always. Staff as friendly as ever with Zuanna going that extra mile to make you feel welcome, she is an asset to the Hotel. Look forward to a return trip in 2018 after the renovations. Thanks for a lovely staff.

Room Tip: Go for classic plus rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, your kind words are much appreciated and will most certainly be passed on to the staff. I am sure Zuzana will be delighted to hear what you had to say. And yes she is most certainly a great asset here at Hillthwaite. Thank you once again for your repeat business and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We have just had a really lovely weeks stay in a wonderful well positioned family owned hotel. The rooms are clean and tidy and furnished to a very high standard. We were able to take our little Yorkshire terrier with us; he was also made to feel very welcome with a special doggie pack on arrival. The Food choice changed every day and was superb, cooked well and presented nicely.
The Staff were so very friendly nothing was to much trouble to them. We would like to mention a special thank you to Kevin and Marco they both were very attentive giving that little bit extra but the whole team were great and very well trained.......thank you.
We will come back soon for another visit.
The views from the hotel are very special and even though the weather was not so good, we still had a memorable holiday in the lakes.
This hotel is a must to try if visiting the Windermere area perched very high with a wonderful view of the lake.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tonytinaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

May i start by saying a big thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback with other readers. It is a delight to hear you had such an enjoyable time at Hillthwaite, Yorkshire Terrier and-all. We always hope that guests leave feeling they have had the break they need, and its excellent to hear on this occasion we once again did not disappoint. Your kind words regarding Kevin and Marco, as well as all varying aspects of your stay - from the rooms to the food will most definitely be passed on to the team. We all sincerely hope you make a return visit to come and see us again in 2018, possibly spring time when we might enjoy some better weather. Many thanks. All the Hillthwaite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Lovely hotel situated high on a hill overlooking Lake Windermere so people with disabilities may struggle with steep slopes and steps. We ate in the restaurant where the breakfasts were superb, the dinners were good and they coped well with specific menu requirements. The rooms were comfortable with large double beds and individual armchairs. Some had views over the lake although ours did not. However, the bathroom was a little grubby with mildew on the window frames and the chrome work on radiator fittings having never been wiped for some time. The pool was small and shallow so swimming was difficult. However, the sauna and steam rooms were very pleasant and proved to be very popular with guests. We found the staff pleasant, accommodating and helpful so would recommend this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on ground floor as view restricted to car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stoneybroke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Stoneybroke22. Thank you for sharing your feedback with other TripAdvisor readers, your five star review of the hotel is greatly appreciated and we are all delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay at Hillthwaite. The positive remarks regarding both the breakfasts and evening meals will most certainly be shared with the chefs, and the room issues you had will be addressed immediately by our housekeeping team. Thank-you for your recommendation and we very much hope you will choose to come and stay with us again some time in the near future. Kindest Regards, all the Hillthwaite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Loved the ambience of the hotel and the staff very friendly. Nice walk into town from the hotel with lovely walks in the surrounding area. Lots to do in the area being on Lake Windermere. We spent the weekend there with our adult children and it was just lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Many thanks Edwina O for your 5-star review of Hillthwaite. It is wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel, and we very much hope you will make the decision to come and stay with us again. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Hotel in good location, we stayed in the Langdale room which was excellent, bathroom great and good view to Lake Winderemere. Hotel very well kept and staff friendly. Could be more choice at breakfast but overall food ok.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainham575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward M, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank-you for your great review and for taking the time to share this with others, along with your recommendation. It is much appreciated by everyone at Hillthwaite and we will take a look at what additions can added to the breakfast menu. Many thanks and see hopefully see you again. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
533 reviews
1.3 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,832 reviews
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,436 reviews
3.7 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: RM650 - RM1,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District, UK
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing