We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elleray(Windermere)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$80
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St John's Lodge(Windermere)
US$158
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grey Walls Hotel(Windermere)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Rest(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
336
42
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
42
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarmaladehomemade cookiesaward winninglake districtmemory foam mattresshome madeguest houseadded touchattic roomorrest headbus stationeggs benedictevery morningexcellent staylocal informationgreat hostsrestaurants and pubs
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location, but situated on the main road, but the road noise didn't really trouble us.
Great hosts who served up a nice traditional English breakfast with a cafetiere of coffee. Also on offer are the usual cereals, juices, muesli, fruit and yoghurt. But the highlight is the selection of homemade jams and marmalade, which are also in sale. We bought 3 jars !
Rooms are lovely and clean, but our room had a modest bathroom . Room 5
Caroline was a perfect host and very knowledgeable about the area. And Martin was the master in the kitchen and there was always a selection of cakes on reception to greet us. They kindly shared the recipe with us.
Looking forward to a return visit

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank johnboybillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for your review.

We are lucky to have a pick your own fruit farm close to Rockside to enable us to make the very best jams as it is also down to the quality and freshness of the produce to get the best results.

Hope to see you again

Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We have just stayed at Rockside Guest House for 3 nights. It was a convenient location for walking in the lakes. Very near the railway station and buses around the region and only a short walk into the centre of Windermere. The hosts Caroline and Martin were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with local produce and home made conserves. It was a lovely touch to return tired from a walk to find a plate full of cakes or biscuits at reception for guests to help themselves to. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for your kind words

We would love to see you both again if ever back in our parts, there are plenty more walks for you to enjoy and there will always be a plate of goodies in reception just waiting for your return.

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Rockside is well located, a few minutes walk to restaurants, shops and public transport. Our room was attractive with a very comfortable bed. There was a wide choice for breakfast, all prepared to order, and delicious home baking awaiting our return each day. A nice touch was a folder in the room detailing places to visit and things to do, which helped us make the most of our few days in the area. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_C_U_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for your review so pleased you enjoyed your time here in the Lakes.
We all need a bit of help when visiting an area for the first time so we are glad you found the information which was provided in the room folder of use and helped you to make the most of your time.

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The hotel is a short, few minutes walk from the Windermere Station. Perfect base location to visit the Lake District. Stayed for 5 nights. Martin prepared fabulous breakfasts that my wife & I looked forward to. Caroline was a great host and very caring. As we had to check-out early on Jun 2nd to catch the train to London, she prepared takeaway breakfasts for us so that we could take that along for the train ride. We stayed in Room 10. They contacted us prior to arrival to ensure that we have no problem with climbing that few steps with our luggage. Truly appreciate their thoughts and consideration. Next time we visit Lake District, we will definitely choose Rockside again. Many thanks to Martin and Caroline!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexliangfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your review

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and no one should miss out even if you have early plans.

Glad you liked the location we are perfect for all public transport here at Rockside especially if arriving by train, when we say we are less than 2 minutes walk we really do mean it!!

We always try to ensure guests are aware of potential issues prior to arrival as Rockside is an unusual property with many stairs and quirky rooms, information is key and Suite 10 is right at the top and stairs are not for everyone

Be lovely to see you again if ever in our parts

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Our first visit to the Lake District was made really special by our stay at Rockside. We were in a perfect base location to explore, with many restaurants and pubs within a short walking distance. Our room was quiet and we slept so well each night because of the incredibly comfortable beds! Breakfast was very good quality, we sampled different things from the menu and each was as delicious as the next...proper, quality ingredients and home cooked. An excellent touch to make guests feel at home were the baked goods left in the entrance each day-really delicious and much appreciated after a long day walking!!

We also found it very helpful to have a booklet in our room, detailing all the best walks and attractions around the area, with a description of difficulty level. This helped us to delegate our time well and make the most of our visit.

We will definitely return to the Lake District and Rockside would be our number one choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thanks for your review, Room 1 is a great room a bit set back from the others so pleased that you got a great nights sleep. All of our beds have wonderful memory foam mattresses designed to mold to your back and enhance your sleep and it sounds like it did the trick.

You chose well with your walks especially bearing in mind you live in one of the flattest parts of the country - you did amazingly well on the Grasmere one as there were a couple of steep bits on that one.

Keep the walking up and we would love to see you both again - Catbells Next Time !!??

Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews