We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Howbeck(Windermere)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Park(Windermere)
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$208
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Willowsmere(Windermere)
US$187
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$114
US$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
US$314
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
330
42
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
42
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarmaladeaward winninghomemade cookieslake districtguest housememory foam mattresshome madeadded touchtrain bus stationattic roomorrest headjourney homeentrance halleggs benedictevery morningfull englishlocal walks
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rockside Guest house in Windermere, and the service we received was superb. Upon booking we made them aware that my wife is Lactose/Diary intolerant, and every effort was made to make sure no ingredients, my wife has an intolerance of, were used, to the point of making her, her own cake so she didn't feel left out, even making some for her to bring home. We had lactose free milk in the fridge in our room, and dairy free butter and yogurt at breakfast. We were in room 8, up in the loft space, and as other reviews have mentioned, the en-suite isn't very big, but we didn't find that a problem at all. The king size bed was very comfy and there was plenty of storage for your clothes.
For breakfast we had ample choice of cereals, fruit, juices and a choice of cooked breakfast from the menu. Plus every day Caroline baked different cake treats for you and left them in the reception area, my wife had dairy free banana bread instead, which she said was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble, and every guest is made to feel so welcome.

If we visit the Lakes again, we will definitely stay here, as you are quite central, plenty of restaurants and pubs within walking distance, and Bowness-on-Windermere is about 20-25 mins walk away.

We won't recommend the Rockside to other people...

...as we want to keep it all to ourselves!

Thank you so much for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greeni75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you for your kind comments.

We try to ensure no one misses out here at Rockside and we have discovered by trial that many of our special and secret recipes are very adaptable especially our Banana Bread and so can be enjoyed guilt free even if you are lactose intolerant.

So pleased you felt at home with us and we would love to see you both again.

Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay in Rockside. It was clean and comfortable. Guests who are on a gluten free diet are well catered for at breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised with a container of delicious gluten free homebaked Banana bread left for me in the bedroom and some to take home too. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B. It is centrally located and a couple of minutes walk to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucydooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks for the review it was lovely to meet you both and what a busy time you had with us here in the Lakes. Such a shame that you did not quite manage to see everything you wanted and missed out on The Beatrix Potter Gallery, but it is something to look forward to next time!!

Always happy to help with any special diets glad to hear you enjoyed the Banana Bread

All the Best to you Both

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and it was very nice. We were made welcome straight away by our hosts Caroline and Martin who were sitting out the front having a cuppa. The weather wasn't very kind however this was not a real issue as the room was more than comfortable clean and uniquely decorated with the added extra being a mini fridge. Caroline and Martin were very helpful and approachable. Breakfast menu was delicious and they were very flexible. Ideal location within easy access and walking distance to many facilities. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stevecrowe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thanks for the review and trust you are still being well looked after on your on wards trip exploring the UK.

We like to offer something a bit different for breakfast as we are aware that sometimes especially when you are travelling for long periods of time breakfast can get a bit 'samey'
so it is great to hear you enjoyed our variety.

All the best to you both

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My husband and i had never visited The Lake District so we set about search for a B&B in the Windermere area. What a find wow! We stayed at Rockside for 3 nights. While we were there it was our 31st wedding anniversary, Caroline wished us Happy Anniversary at breakfast and when we got back in from a long day walking there was a card on our bed from her and Martin, how sweet was that? Our room (no. 4) was lovely, clean, cosy and inviting and the bathroom was large and spotless. The breakfasts were very tasty with locally sourced and homemade produce, the homemade granola was the best, there was also a fresh cake in reception every day for you to help yourself to, which was a lovely touch. All in all we couldn't have chosen better and when we return to The Lakes we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank palma72017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for taking the time out from your all too busy schedule to leave us your review it is hugely appreciated and contains such kind words.

We try our very best for all our guests and are delighted to hear your anniversary stay was a memorable one for you both.

Be lovely to see you both again maybe even for your 32nd !!??

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stay here every year, and always enjoy the very friendly atmosphere, and the excellent service we receive from Caroline and Martin. Our 9 days was superb, and the breakfasts and daily "home-made "treats" just get better every year. The room is always spotless and comfortable. Thoroughly recommended to anyone wanting a first class place to stay.

Room Tip: We always use Room 2 as it has a very nice additional small "lounge" with fridge, as well as a spacious en-suite shower/toilet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks for the review Paul, it is always a pleasure to host both you and Marion here at Rockside.

Martin embraces his challenge to create some different treats for you ... but never forgets the old favourites I mean you cant beat good old fashioned shortbread.

All the best to you both and hope to see you again next year

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews