We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockside Guest House
Ranked #11 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Spent a wonderful 5 nights at Rockside Guesthouse. Very warm welcome by Caroline who always had a cheerful smile and was helpful with regard local information. Room was perfect for solo traveller. Very comfortable bed and was woken to the wonderful smell of the fabulous cooked breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. The award winning marmalade very good (able to purchase). Conveniently situated for walks, shopping and near to bus station. A truly memorable stay and as a lady travelling alone would highly recommend a stay here. The added touch of homemade treats was a welcome addition after a long day of walking. Would definitely stay again when I'm next in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gilly-Popps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Many thanks for your review , it was lovely to meet you and am so pleased that you enjoyed your first solo trip to the Lakes, with the unexpected completion of the full Fairfield Horseshoe a walk to remember, and always has the benefit of being able to enjoy treats guilt free!!

If you are ever in our parts again it would be great to see you again

Regards
Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rockside Guest house in Windermere, and the service we received was superb. Upon booking we made them aware that my wife is Lactose/Diary intolerant, and every effort was made to make sure no ingredients, my wife has an intolerance of, were used, to the point of making her, her own cake so she didn't feel left out, even making some for her to bring home. We had lactose free milk in the fridge in our room, and dairy free butter and yogurt at breakfast. We were in room 8, up in the loft space, and as other reviews have mentioned, the en-suite isn't very big, but we didn't find that a problem at all. The king size bed was very comfy and there was plenty of storage for your clothes.
For breakfast we had ample choice of cereals, fruit, juices and a choice of cooked breakfast from the menu. Plus every day Caroline baked different cake treats for you and left them in the reception area, my wife had dairy free banana bread instead, which she said was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble, and every guest is made to feel so welcome.

If we visit the Lakes again, we will definitely stay here, as you are quite central, plenty of restaurants and pubs within walking distance, and Bowness-on-Windermere is about 20-25 mins walk away.

We won't recommend the Rockside to other people...

...as we want to keep it all to ourselves!

Thank you so much for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greeni75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you for your kind comments.

We try to ensure no one misses out here at Rockside and we have discovered by trial that many of our special and secret recipes are very adaptable especially our Banana Bread and so can be enjoyed guilt free even if you are lactose intolerant.

So pleased you felt at home with us and we would love to see you both again.

Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay in Rockside. It was clean and comfortable. Guests who are on a gluten free diet are well catered for at breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised with a container of delicious gluten free homebaked Banana bread left for me in the bedroom and some to take home too. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B. It is centrally located and a couple of minutes walk to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucydooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks for the review it was lovely to meet you both and what a busy time you had with us here in the Lakes. Such a shame that you did not quite manage to see everything you wanted and missed out on The Beatrix Potter Gallery, but it is something to look forward to next time!!

Always happy to help with any special diets glad to hear you enjoyed the Banana Bread

All the Best to you Both

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and it was very nice. We were made welcome straight away by our hosts Caroline and Martin who were sitting out the front having a cuppa. The weather wasn't very kind however this was not a real issue as the room was more than comfortable clean and uniquely decorated with the added extra being a mini fridge. Caroline and Martin were very helpful and approachable. Breakfast menu was delicious and they were very flexible. Ideal location within easy access and walking distance to many facilities. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stevecrowe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thanks for the review and trust you are still being well looked after on your on wards trip exploring the UK.

We like to offer something a bit different for breakfast as we are aware that sometimes especially when you are travelling for long periods of time breakfast can get a bit 'samey'
so it is great to hear you enjoyed our variety.

All the best to you both

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My husband and i had never visited The Lake District so we set about search for a B&B in the Windermere area. What a find wow! We stayed at Rockside for 3 nights. While we were there it was our 31st wedding anniversary, Caroline wished us Happy Anniversary at breakfast and when we got back in from a long day walking there was a card on our bed from her and Martin, how sweet was that? Our room (no. 4) was lovely, clean, cosy and inviting and the bathroom was large and spotless. The breakfasts were very tasty with locally sourced and homemade produce, the homemade granola was the best, there was also a fresh cake in reception every day for you to help yourself to, which was a lovely touch. All in all we couldn't have chosen better and when we return to The Lakes we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank palma72017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for taking the time out from your all too busy schedule to leave us your review it is hugely appreciated and contains such kind words.

We try our very best for all our guests and are delighted to hear your anniversary stay was a memorable one for you both.

Be lovely to see you both again maybe even for your 32nd !!??

Kind Regards

Caroline & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
415 reviews
0.6 km away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
723 reviews
0.4 km away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#22 of 107 in Windermere
179 reviews
0.9 km away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#7 of 107 in Windermere
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Guest House

Address: 25 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: RM 415 - RM 489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Traditional Lakeland Guest House. Modern Rooms, Substantial Breakfasts. Located less than 2 minutes walk from Bus and Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockside Guest House Windermere, Lake District, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing