We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wheatlands Lodge(Windermere)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elleray(Windermere)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
St John's Lodge(Windermere)
US$158
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Windermere(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lakes Lodge(Windermere)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
US$222
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cedar Manor Hotel(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Park(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
165
11
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshosts pamlocal arealake districton arrivalthe en suite showerguest housebody washfull englishpot of teamain roadfantastic hostswould definitely stay here againbed and breakfastten minute walklovely guesthousefriendly welcomelong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We have just spent a long weekend with friends at The Firgarth. Have nothing but praise for the owners Pam & Colin, they obviousely have their guests interests at heart. It was our friends birthday on the day we arrived, and they recommended a restaurant in Windermere and actually made the booking on our behalf (we can now recommend Francines in Windermere too). They were kind enough to book a Taxi for us too. The rooms were immaculate and spotlessly clean and so comfortable.
Exceptional breakfast prepared by Colin and served very efficiently by Pam and her staff. Food products are sourced locally and were very enjoyable in particular the Sausage that we were told was obtained from Huddlestons butchers in the village. We loved our stay here and hope to return in the near future to visit the many places that were recommended by Pam & Colin. Well done to you all, we have only praise for you and your lovely Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Firgarth. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback it is very much appreciated.

Look after yourselves.
All the very best
Pam and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

My wife and I recently had a three night stay at this very well run and cosy bed and breakfast. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and served with a very welcome cup of tea . Our room was very good with a nice view. Breakfast was a real treat . We doubt that you would find a better guest house in this area. Many thanks to Pam and Colin for making our stay so enjoyable. Good luck to you both. Peter and Joy.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Peter and Joy

Thank you for the great review we are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found everything to your liking.

It was lovely to meet you both. Thank you again for taking the time it is very much appreciated.

Take care of yourselves.
Pam and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Arrived on the Friday to a very friendly welcome, taken to sitting room and brought a pot of tea. The owner then gave us lots of tips and advice of ways to get around and things to visit. We had the four poster bed room which was very comfortable, with a very modern shower room. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with everything you could possible want and nothing was too much trouble. A very enjoyable time, Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found everything to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback it is very much appreciated.

It was good to meet you both.

All the very best
Colin and Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Totally relaxing stay over the long weekend. Pam & Colin are excellent host and have a very good knowledge about the area. Pam gave us very good suggestions about the scenic drives. On top of all, British breakfast was fabulous. Pam makes sure you have very good stay in Lake District. Definitely, would suggest for couples as children are not allowed.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SayeePowar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Really pleased you had a relaxing stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and found us helpful. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback it is very much appreciated.

Hope you enjoyed Blackpool.

All the best
Pam and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time here. Me and my wife were very impressed. Pam and Colin were fantastic hosts and Pam in particular gave us great advice and suggestions as soon as we arrived as to where to go and what to see. Our room (room 3) was a good size and we were very impressed with the en-suite shower. Breakfast was really good. I had a full English each morning whereas my wife had cereal (there were so many to choose from) and croissants! So both our needs were certainly satisfied here! The hotel was very quiet and even though it's on a main road we couldn't hear any noise at night. You can park right next to the hotel on their car park which was handy. The hotel is in a good location too. We walked to both Windermere and Bowness with not much difficulty. The taxi trip to Bowness is quick and cheap though if you don't fancy the walk. Overall, very impressed - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for the detailed feedback it is very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found everything to your liking.

We wish you both all the very best for the future and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Remember to contact us direct so we can ensure we give you the best rates.

Kind Regards
Pam and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews