We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canasta Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Blackpool
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park House Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Claremont Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Parisienne Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Strand Lodge(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Viagra(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
202
81
18
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
81
18
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tea and coffeeon arrivaltram stopset you up for the dayfull englishsea viewnext yearfantastic weekendnothing is too much troublefriendly atmospheremy partnertoastkeep up the good workhome from homeweekend breaksea frontfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

bog standard Blackpool B&B- not awful, but not particularly great. Location good, breakfast average (service slow). Pay extra for a seaview room as the view from the back rooms is very grim. Unfriendly staff was my main gripe-as was the parking situation. Impractical and annoying. Would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CardiffNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

I'm puzzled what you found "impractical and annoying". If you were referring to the car parking we have spaces for 18 vehicles - far more than many in the Victorian town of Blackpool.
I'm sorry you didnt find us very friendly. Perhaps there were reasons for that. We do treat folk as we find them.
From the tone of your review I'm kind of pleased you wont be coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

stayed at the Canasta hotel recently for a special occasion, would not go again, beds not comfy, did not like the "non friendly" approach, hard working girls though i must say.

would not recommend to a friend!!

Room Tip: just dont book into any room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine474780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Oh dear. I'm sorry you didnt enjoy your stay but I am a little puzzled by your comments. Our matresses get changed every two years and we regularly get good comments about them. We dont buy the cheap rubbish many others do. If EVER we get a comment about a bed being uncomfortable we generally replace it straight away - I cant honestly remember the last time we did have a complaint about that. and am puzzled why you didnt let me know when you were here? If you were staying more than one night I would definitetly have sorted it for subsequent nights (or at least for the next guest). Perhaps you'd like to go the extra mile and email me about which room you stayed in.

As for the "non friendly approach" well i dont know what to say really. I must be honest and say I can't remember you. I do all the check-ins as I like to know who is staying in my house (yes we live on the premises). I always greet with a smile and chat and try and get guests to sit down and have a cuppa before giving the key etc.

Thanks for mentioning the one good point - we are quite proud of our staff.

We obviously got it wrong in your case and I am genuinely sorry about that.

Have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool - even if its not with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from another great weekend at the canasta,there was 12 in our party ranging from 6 to 58 years and as usual Doug,mandy and all the staff made us welcome and the haloween party was great, the food was fantastic as usual and the hotel itself was very clean as is normal for the canasta,this was our 3rd visit and we cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: no complaints about any of the rooms we have stayed in on our 3 visits.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris8270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thanks very much Chris and the gang for your repeat custom. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was our first time at the Canasta. What can i say? Greeted with a smile and a coffee. All of the staff were excellent,cheery and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfast?.....well i certainly couldn,t complain. Struggled to finish it. It was superb. No problem getting parked. The only let down was the usual British weather. A massive 10 out of 10 for the Canasta. Would recommend it no problem. Thank you very much for a relaxing time. This is the only hotel in Blackpool that i would go back to without hesitation. All the best from the Nicol family.

Room Tip: Don,t let this hotel pass you by. Superb!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thanks very much Iain for taking the time to pen the review. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted like an old friend, with a warm welcoming smile and a nice cuppa whilst you are checked in, then staff help park your car and carry your bags into the Hotel, the Hotel run a yellow & red card system to insure other guests do not spoil your stay at The Canasta Hotel, the staff are ALWAYS available to assist you and via a bell a reception dueing the night, through out our stay at the Canasta the staff was so helpful and always with a smile and a joke, even on the wettest days their up beat attitude brighten our day, really can't say enough about the Hotel and staff, you really need to stay to get the full picture of just how warm this hotel is.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathfinderpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thanks for the review Pete - we're so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews