We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Great hotel, location on the seafront within about 15 mins walk of the Pleasure Beach. We stayed on a very windy, cold night when the main bar was occupied by a wedding - potential for disaster but was a really fun night. We were expecting a quiet night in the bar but were invaded by in-house pub quiz, bingo and karaoke. Loved it! Hotel clean and breakfast great.

Room Tip: Try not to get a sea-facing room, the wind off the sea whips up a racket and the window fixtures rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mca555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    315
    145
    45
    31
See reviews for
388
297
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed for 1 night in January for the purpose of seeing a show at the Opera House. Rooms were clean, well set out.
Food was excellent and well priced, we had lunch and also the staff were accomodating to provide us with some food late at night, which was appreciated with not many of the usual late-opening places to eat being open at this time of year.
Reasonably priced, and the staff were more than helpful!

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sezzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I attended the Christening reception of my Grandson at this lovely hotel. All the staff were attentive, well mannered and nothing was too much trouble. The food was served hot and was just delicious and what we wanted on a cold January afternoon.
It was great to see a local hotel get everything so right, especially on a special occasion.
Well Done to all the staff. Thankyou!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We arrived on 27th & met family who had also booked Twixmas break. Initially there was a slight problem with cleaning our room but after that I have to say the stay was brilliant! The food, service & entertainment were really good. We had 3 children staying in our party between ages of 8-12 & they also enjoyed the evening entertainment & the food. I was slightly concerned that the childrens portions would not be large enough for my near teenager but need not have worried - they were ample in size! Every adult in our party enjoyed the evening meals as there was plenty of choice & all tasted fabulous. Our Family room was of good size with a pleasant sea view. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Blackpool.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool.

May I thank you for your kind words regarding the food, service & entertainment - your comments are very much appreciated. We are delighted you had such a great time and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here on New Years Eve and it was lovely, clean and comfortable. It was nice and we will return next time we want to stay in Blackpool .

One slight problem was that we went out for a walk in the afternoon and got very cold and wet - much to be expected in Blackpool in December. All we spoke about on the way back was how nice it wil be to get in the room and warm up in the shower. Sadly when we went for a shower only cold water came out. On complaining to reception a member of staff said 'I can only apologise, the pump has broke and it is being fixed'. Although we were pleased the problem was being looked at it was not good enough for us as we had to be ready for our gala dinner at 7pm so didn't have time to wait. We are not pushy people so just accepted the answer but it would have been a really nice gesture if the hotel gave us a free drink or knocked a bit of money off the bill.

The gala dinner was a bit cramped but that was not a problem when the drinks started flowing. It turned out to be a really fun night and great value for money. The food was nice. A Beatles tribute act played for a couple of hours followed by a disco, which was a good laugh. The guests were all nie people and in good spirits.

For four people who are normally in bed for 10pm we stayed up till 3am so I think that shows what a great time we had. Sadly with the hangovers we never managed to try the shower in the morning to see if it was warm.

It's a great place to stay so go and enjoy it - and I dare you to have go in the scary lift.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepwellManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool. May I apologise for the initial problem regarding the hot water, this was a temporary issue and was resolved shortly after we became aware.

May I otherwise thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. We take all feedback very seriously & share this with our team. We are delighted you had such a great time on New Year's Eve and your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
0.7 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,091 reviews
0.6 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
4.9 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price range (per night): RM288 - RM541
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing