We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for doing business at Lancaster University”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lancaster House Hotel
Ranked #480 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2017

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times in the last 3 years. It is a short cab ride (or bus ride) from downtown Lancaster and the train station. They have an upscale restaurant (very nice) and a pub (less expensive but has excellent food). The hotel has a relatively inexpensive laundry service if you want to pack less and it is usually done in 24 hours. The basic rooms are nice and the suites are really nice and spacious. Good free wifi too.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are good for a solo traveler. The suites are worth the price if you want to upgrade...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Riley1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Booked afternoon tea at the Lancaster house hotel as a treat and at a price of £14.99 a head this was mid price range compared to ones we have had before. First impressions of the hotel where quite good i.e. the decor but the welcome was not the best as we were asked to pick any table as they were all empty. There were 4 of us in our party so the afternoon tea came out on 2 3-tier cake stands. The sandwiches were dry on top as if they were made earlier in the day and the eclair which we were supposed to get was replaced by a brownie. This meant 2 brownies each , these in themselves were a disappointment as they just tasted like chocolate sponge. The staff never asked if everything was ok and if we needed a top up of the tea. Even when we paid we were not asked if everything was ok. All in all a disappointing visit to a 4 star hotel. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Exceptionally nice, modern rooms, and great service from staff. Right across the road from the university, so perfect if you're visiting there. There is a decent sized pool and a gym with modern and well maintained equipment. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rotheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The hotel is lovely, the room wonderful. I was accommodated in a superior suite. Bed luxurious, bathroom fab, and loved he sheepdog on the bed ( not real!!) health spa clean and the outdoor spa pool a pleasant surprise. I was a bit disappointed with dinner which was very average. The staff however were friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay again but might just look for somewhere else to eat

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with good facilities and easy to get to from the M6. I have stayed here and with this chain a number of times and will probably do so again. It has one big problem and I am sorry to be critical but the breakfast service is just hopeless and not only on this stay. It is meant to start at 7am but some of the hot buffet items were still not there at 7.15, they were just not ready to go at 7am. I asked for coffee and toast on three occasions once when being seated by the totally disorganised restaurant manager and twice more when nothing arrived. Ultimately I was about to leave having eaten breakfast when it arrived. To late for me sadly. Amazingly This is an exact repeat of what happened last time I stayed here a month ago. It is clear that the breakfast service needs some serious attention from hotel management and that is really unfortunate because otherwise this is a better than average hotel with a lot of good points.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
27.9 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,363 reviews
2.2 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,150 reviews
3.2 km away
Olivers
Olivers
#50 of 133 in Blackpool
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
On The Beach Apartments
On The Beach Apartments
#88 of 133 in Blackpool
60 reviews
0.6 km away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 133 in Blackpool
146 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House Hotel

Address: 272-274 Central Drive, Blackpool FY1 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: RM3 - RM5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing