We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, great Location ”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, rooms hot but there's a fan. Staff are nice. Great location 5 min walk to the tower. Would stay here again. Car park around corner which is £10 for 24hrs. You can pull up outside hotel and they will guide you to car park. Close to shopping centre.very cheap

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank geminigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback - it really means a great deal to us. We are so happy that overall you had a wonderful stay at the Royal Ruskin and found our hardworking staff to be very helpful and friendly. In regards to heat - we do apologise you felt your room to be a little on the warm side, our radiators have thermostats which can be turned down - however we are pleased you were comfortable due to the fan in your room. It's great to learn you would return to us again in the future, we wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you again soon,

All the best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a night away recently. The check in experience was great, with the lady being super friendly and helpful. She even printed some stuff off for us which was amazing. The problems came when we got back to the hotel after a night out. First off our room key had stopped working (despite me making a point to keep it separate from my phone) and so had to get that sorted. And then it was like walking into a sauna when we got in! The heating was on full, to the point there was there burn smell in the air. I went to turn the radiator off to have the turn knob come off in my hand and so we were stuck with the heat. We opened the windows but couldn't open the curtains as there was another window directly opposite us. Luckily there was a fan in the room but it rattled so much I couldn't sleep so had to turn it off.

On top of the heat, we were woken up in the morning (around 830-9am...which after a late night drinking isn't what we wanted) by hoovering!! And a male member of staff shouting down the corridor outside our room to one of the maids. At about 930 someone tried to come into our room (a maid I presume) so we had to shout for them not to come in. Check out was 11am so we were pretty annoyed.

When we were checking out the lady who checked us in was on the phone, dealing very well with what sounded a very rude customer. There was another woman floating about who ignored us and when the phone rang after we had gotten there, she answered that first rather than serve us. She also didn't ask us how our stay was and when I tried to explain about he radiator she just said oh, sorry and then said bye before I had chance to mention anything else.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Holley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear the Royal Ruskin didn't meet your expectations on this occasion - in regards to the heat in your room, this does sadden us as we do endeavour to deliver a fantastic holiday to all of our guests, we do kindly ask guests to notify us immediately at reception of any issues whatsover so they can be rectified at the time to ensure a more pleasurable stay. We would have replaced the fan in your room promptly and should you notify us further of your dissatisfaction we may have offered another more suitable room should one be available at the time, we will always do everything we can to accommodate - we apologise for any inconvenience caused however thank you for bringing matters to our attention re- the radiator valve, please call the hotel and advise which room you stayed in so we can investigate and pass on to our maintenance team to rectify. Please accept our apologies also for the hoovering the following morning, our housekeeping team do try and make a start as early as possible to ensure a quick check in for the days arrivals as the hotel does get very busy at this time of year. The Royal Ruskin does usually get extremely good feedback regarding the excellent customer service as reflected in many fantastic TripAdvisor reviews, guest feedback is extremely important to us so we are sorry for the abrupt service received on departure, we will speak with our reception team to ensure our usual excellent standard is upheld. We do hope you are not deterred from staying with us again in the near future, thank you once again for your feedback, best wishes

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Very noisy and the rooms need a makeover , the best thing about the hotel was the breakfast . Won't be booking there again , we visited this hotel before and had a room upgrade which was better but after this time we thought the quality of the hotel had gone way down

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 12midget123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest, we are very sorry to learn the Royal Ruskin didn't meet your expectations on this occasion - the hotel is currently underway with refurbishment - many of our guest rooms have been updated to a fabulous standard along with fresh updated decor in many of the hotels communal areas however there is still much to be done in the coming months so we do hope you will re consider staying with us again in the future to see these exciting changes. Thank you for your comments on our breakfast, Steven our head chef continually delivers fantastic food - he will be very happy to learn of your feedback. Once again many thanks for your review and we do hope to see you again soon

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We booked this hotel because it said 'Parking' available. After a long journey, we went to check in to find the car park was full and had to park in a public parking a bit of a walk away. The hotel was just ok. Room very small. Too much unnecessary furniture in the room. The lift was extremely slow. It's a bit dated. But the bar and outside seating area was nice.

Room Tip: Better to book 1st floor so you can run up the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback - guest comments are extremely important to us. Our onsite parking is first come first serve unfortunately however as you mention there is ample parking available nearby with very reasonable 24hr pricing. In regards to decor - the Royal Ruskin is currently underway with refurbishment, much of the hotel has been updated and many guest bedrooms modernised however there are still many exciting changes happening over the coming months so we do hope you will choose us again for a future holiday to see the results. Thank you once again for your review, all the very best -

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel online as it looked great. The staff were friendly on checkin, however when I asked about the parking was told its £12 up the road or £20 at the hotel, not much choice when you have to park a car. We were disappointed with the room as it was tiny, with barely enough room to get around the bed to the bathroom with two suitcases and furniture. Sleep was not an option as the people next door decided to have an argument with shouting and yelling and thumping around, from 1.45 - 4.15 am, despite a call to reception it continued till they left the room at 4.30 am. Breakfast was a buffet and was very nice, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Overall it was not a positive experience and would not stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fionahallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear the Royal Ruskin didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. We do kindly ask guests to notify us at reception immediately of any issues whatsoever so they can be rectified there and then, we may have offered another more suitable room to yourselves should one be available at the time. We do apologise for the noise coming from neighbouring guests, our night staff would usually kindly ask guests to keep noise levels to a minimum to minimise guest disturbance. We are happy to learn you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, we do pride ourselves on excellent food and service here at the hotel - many thanks for your comments. We do hope you will re consider staying with us again in the future, we have many room types on offer from Deluxe to Superior rooms which carry a small supplement so they may be an option for future visits, thank you once again for your review and all the best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
3.1 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
3.8 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Address: 55-61 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: RM104 - RM913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation. Superb restaurant facilities and the renowned roly’s bar bistro combine to ensure the highest standards of comfort and service for our guests. With a lift to all floors, a separate games room, an elegant lounge and night porter service, your comfort is ensured with outstanding attentive service from a team of friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing