We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will return next year”
Review of St Albans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Albans Hotel
Ranked #452 of 852 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will return next year”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I don't return to many Hotels year after year but Carol and Alan are the perfect host and make you welcome from the minute you step out of your car! The bedrooms are spotless and very comfortable with a good shower! As for the breakfasts they are simply fantastic as you get to choose what you want and they are always Hot! The atmosphere is also great, made loads of friends while I was their again, but also noticed alot of people returned again from the first time I visited St Albans, that speaks volumes! With the attractions being within walking distance this is definately a Hotel for you as your bang smack in the middle, one way of Blackpool Tower and the other way is the Pleasure Beach. Across the road if you don't fancy the walk is the Tram and bus stop.Carol and Alan are the nicest people you can ever wish to meet and I look forward to returning next year. Its only a shame my break had to end!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun1968red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    29
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
55
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Arrived at St Albans not impressed. We had kids with us and couldnt get buggied from car to front door of hotel and car park was very tight and straight in front of door entrance. The "hotel" was clean but run down. This is classified as a hotel but from experience of living in Blackpool this is just a bed & breakfast with on suite. There is no hairdryer, no shampoo etc towels are not even changed each day. Would not stay here again for the price we payed.

Room Tip: All rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougal3, Owner at St Albans Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
THIS GUEST came with his daughter who had booked a single room but two people occupied the room and he was not happy because she had booked a seaveiw but we dont have any seaveiw single rooms.,if she had booked for two people as was in the room anyway she could have had a seaveiw.The writer of the reveiw was asked three times if everything was alright and he replied everything was fine on all three occasions.I suggest the readers of this reveiw check out our other reveiws on this and other sites.We are 3*** Visit Britain but were marked as 4**** for cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

from the moment i arrvied and was met by carol i knew id found a gem of a hotel .
a nice frendly smile and a very warm welcome.the room i was in was spotless and i could not have ask for better .the breakfast was well fvooid to die for 2nd to none .
i explained that a friend was joing me on the wednesday and would they be able to park in the hotel grounds and was told yes .when my friend arrvied there was a parking space reseved for her thanks carol your a star.aleen and phill whio help run the place well you could not get nicer people and that goes for carol as well.this was my first visit to blackpool and wont be my last as long as i can stay at st-albans i would not want to stay anywhere eles .its 2 mins from the beach ans walking distance to the tower and other attractions .all i would say is if your in blackpool for the friday and sat night watch out for the hen and stag partys they do get loud and rowdy.but thats nothing to do with st-ablans thats blackpool itsself.once again a gem and a specal thanks to carol /allen/and phill for making my first visit to blackpool a very specal one.....ill be back

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggy4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The only problem with a holiday at the St. Albans is it has to end.
Allen Carole & Phil are 3 of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet.
In 25 years of using B&B we have never re-booked until we went to the St. Albans and in September we will be going back for a third time.
Rooms are very good kept clean and the breakfast is excellent.
bar facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dai190783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The St Albans was a lovely place to stay with great breakfast , lovely and warm as this was february after all.Not much to do at nights with the kids but we were entertained by Carole and Allen in the bar,Allen playing pool with my two sons while we played dominoes and sang a song on Kareoke.All round a great three days,a bit late to bed but well recover from that.Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts,highly reccomended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiekam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.0 km away
Sandford Hotel
Sandford Hotel
#114 of 852 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 km away
The Shore Side Hotel
The Shore Side Hotel
#341 of 852 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Oakwell Hotel
Oakwell Hotel
#477 of 852 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 km away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#129 of 852 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 km away
South Beach
South Beach
#86 of 852 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Albans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Albans Hotel

Property: St Albans Hotel
Address: 355 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 852 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price range (per night): RM282 - RM304
Hotel Class:3 star — St Albans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your St Albans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing