We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening”

Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 780 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lancashire-based Michael Wan's Mandarin was established in 1961. The purveyor of Cantonese cuisine is lauded as "superb," "fantastic," "delicious and consistent," with "fabulous food," by the critics on TripAdvisor, landing it a spot as one of the top 3 Chinese restaurants in the UK based on customer reviews. Signature dishes include Twice Cooked Pork, Gon Siu Crispy Beef and Huan San Fish and Tofu Stew.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We were very excited to find a chinese that served gluten free food. The web site was a little bit confusing and led us to believe anything could be gluten free which it wasn't but I must say there was a wide variety of gluten free food and we ordered our very own banquet. Staff very helpful, food lovely, all in all a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for dining with us Susan and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your gluten free meal. Apologies if the website wasn't clear for you but we say that many of our dishes are gluten free rather than all but anyway so long as we know your requirements we're always happy to help guide you through the menu and find you something suitable for you to enjoy :-)
Hope to see you again soon
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 1,811 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
36
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I go regularly to Mandarin now and in the many times we have been we have never once been disappointed, busy or quiet it’s always fabulous. We always recommend it and it is, by far, the best Chinese around. The duck is amazing and the perfect balance between crispy and succulent. The limoncello twist with the lemon chicken makes it so refreshing. The satay is another favourite with the great peanut flavour and the chilli oil in there takes it to another level. The food is testament to why it has been around for so many years.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for such a lovely review and thanks for continuing to come to dine with us, we hope you had a great birthday dinner and look forward to welcoming you back again soon :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

A family of 11 visiting Blackpool to see the illuminations at half term couldn’t visit Blackpool without visiting The Mandarin, we have been eating there as long as I can remember. A lovely lady was singing that night and her music just made the evening. Staff are very friendly and efficient the meals very tasty and huge portions. If you like Cantonese then you must visit.

Thank Dalmation2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thanks for your kind review, and thanks for continuing to return to see us when you're in Blackpool. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dinner with us again, I think the lady singing that night was Louise, she really does have a lovely voice!
We hope to see you again soon :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

We arrived for a booking of ten and the table was perfectly set for a birthday

We were served by Marian who we have known from another restaurant and he always gives the best service

He made me feel very at home and the rest of my family loved it

The best waiter in Blackpool

Another very oriental gentleman helped serve as well although we didn't get his name

Thank you Mandarin

Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thanks for your review Sophie, thanks for choosing the Mandarin to celebrate your Birthday dinner, we're pleased to hear you had a great night. We'll pass on your comments to Marian and Andy, who I think was the other waiter who looked after you that evening.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We visited as a pre-booked family party of 7 and found the table ready and waiting for us. The drinks orders were taken and delivered quickly. The staff were attentive, and quickly came to take the food order. The food was delicious and disappeared quickly - we'll certainly be going back soon. In comparison with a number of other restaurants in town, the prices are slightly more expensive, but the atmosphere of a smaller establishment and higher quality food are worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thanks for your review Nigel, we're pleased you enjoyed your family dinner with us and that the food went down well. Also good to hear our staff looked after you and that you will be coming back to see us again soon :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing