We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant ”

Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 763 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$42
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lancashire-based Michael Wan's Mandarin was established in 1961. The purveyor of Cantonese cuisine is lauded as "superb," "fantastic," "delicious and consistent," with "fabulous food," by the critics on TripAdvisor, landing it a spot as one of the top 3 Chinese restaurants in the UK based on customer reviews. Signature dishes include Twice Cooked Pork, Gon Siu Crispy Beef and Huan San Fish and Tofu Stew.
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our evening. The food was lovely & the service was on point & very friendly! We will be back!

Thank JTT201616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you, we'll look forward to seeing you again next time :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

A large family group, adults and children, all had a lovely meal with something to suit all, we had not taken our grandchildren here before, but we can say that they were looked after very well, and they want to return next time they come to visit. Our party consisted of relatives from Cheshire and Devon, and all were impressed with a restaurant of this quality in Blackpool !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 516marjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks Marjorie, it's great to hear your family enjoyed dinner with us and that our staffed looked after you. We'll look forward to welcoming you back on your next family gathering in Blackpool :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

First visit this week. Have to say, service was spot on as was the range of food. Both our dishes were excellent, but the crispy duck was the best I have ever tried. A bit dearer than normal, but fantastic. As in the name crispy, that's just what it was. Many thanks

1  Thank DaveG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Great to hear you enjoyed dining with us Dave, we hope to see you back again in the new year :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We were very excited to find a chinese that served gluten free food. The web site was a little bit confusing and led us to believe anything could be gluten free which it wasn't but I must say there was a wide variety of gluten free food and we ordered our very own banquet. Staff very helpful, food lovely, all in all a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for dining with us Susan and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your gluten free meal. Apologies if the website wasn't clear for you but we say that many of our dishes are gluten free rather than all but anyway so long as we know your requirements we're always happy to help guide you through the menu and find you something suitable for you to enjoy :-)
Hope to see you again soon
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I go regularly to Mandarin now and in the many times we have been we have never once been disappointed, busy or quiet it’s always fabulous. We always recommend it and it is, by far, the best Chinese around. The duck is amazing and the perfect balance between crispy and succulent. The limoncello twist with the lemon chicken makes it so refreshing. The satay is another favourite with the great peanut flavour and the chilli oil in there takes it to another level. The food is testament to why it has been around for so many years.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blkman1, General Manager at Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for such a lovely review and thanks for continuing to come to dine with us, we hope you had a great birthday dinner and look forward to welcoming you back again soon :-)
Team Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing