We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and well presented exhibition”

King Richard III Visitor Centre
Ranked #2 of 124 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The award-winning King Richard III Visitor Centre is in Leicester city centre, opposite Leicester Cathedral. It has been created around the location where King Richard III's remains were buried for more than 500 years. Using storytelling, design and 21st century technology, visitors can discover the incredible story of the King's life and death, and one of the greatest archaeological detective stories ever told
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Richard III has had a difficult history and I think, having visited the battlefield heritage centre and this centre deserves to rest in peace.

This is a good exhibition about the search for and almost unbelievable finding and exhumation of King Richard III's remains. There are some interactive parts to the display and you can, apparently, get a joint ticket to the Bosworth Battlefield Heritage centre. To see his final resting place, you only have to go across the road to Leicester Cathedral.

Thank 185neily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRIIITeam, Manager at King Richard III Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review of our centre, we really are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Kindest Regards
KRIII Visitor Centre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"grave site"
in 121 reviews
"glass floor"
in 70 reviews
"richard iii"
in 325 reviews
"car park"
in 218 reviews
"richard's life"
in 46 reviews
"archaeological dig"
in 20 reviews
"fascinating exhibition"
in 17 reviews
"actual site"
in 20 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 62 reviews
"modern technology"
in 20 reviews
"excellent exhibition"
in 21 reviews
"leicester cathedral"
in 79 reviews
"english history"
in 25 reviews
"king richard"
in 40 reviews
"bosworth field"
in 17 reviews
"two floors"
in 19 reviews
"final resting place"
in 50 reviews
Filter

117 - 121 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Excellent visitors centre that tells you the complete story with very interesting exhibits and information boards. We could not fault it in any way.

Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRIIITeam, Manager at King Richard III Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for your review Terry, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope you will pay us a return visit again soon.

Kindest Regards

KRIII Visitor Centre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

As a huge Richard III fan, one of my main reasons for traveling to the UK was to visit Leicester and the the visitor center. I was not disappointed! The multi-media approach and the helpful volunteers throughout the museum made for a memorable experience. It is appropriate for both visitors who know a lot about RIII and the history and for those who have little or no knowledge. Highly recommend!

Thank RunnerGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRIIITeam, Manager at King Richard III Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

What a great review!! Thank you!! Your opinion, as a fan of Richard, is truly important to us, we are so glad you were not disappointed. Your kind comments have been passed to our fab volunteers

Kindest Regards

KRIII Visitor Centre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We went to this exhibition expecting to learn more about the Supergrass song. Initially, we were very disappointed, but it turned out to be an excellent showcase about an historic King.
We learned a great deal, and would definitely recommend a visit.
4 stars from us. We would have given 5 if they had played the Supergrass song.

Thank MonicaGlenn_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRIIITeam, Manager at King Richard III Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit though I am sure the monks of King Richard's time did not have that song on their repertoire.

Thanks for your review, it has given us food for thought, perhaps the next time you come we shall play the song especially for you.

Kindest Regards

KRIII Visitor Centre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

bought this a Groupon but would have been happy to pay full price .Story of the history and the the discovery as well .
Really good display and just across the road from the Cathedral where the King is buried.
Staff we spoke to were knowledgeable and friendly .

Thank fw37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRIIITeam, Manager at King Richard III Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and do hope you will return again soon. It is great to know that you would have paid the full price. Thank you,your kind comments have been passed to the staff.

Kindest Regards

KRIII Visitor Centre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Richard III Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to King Richard III Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing