We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Room needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Residence Hotel
Ranked #210 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This family hotel is in a great location, near to Marble Arch and Oxford Street for all the shopping that you want. Also near to Baker Street Station, Regents Park and Hyde Park - all within walking distance.

A few negatives :-
1. The entrance to the hotel is not on Gloucester Place but on a side street (Blandford). We arrived near to midnight in pouring rain and stood at 44 Gloucester Place and had to "bang" on the door for close to 15 minutes. Getting wet at midnight is no fun - better signs and instructions required.
2. The bathroom and kitchen have been updated but the stained carpets needs to be changed. In one of the rooms (208), the carpet was not even vacuumed and we had to get cleaners to do the job.
3. The chairs in the room 208 were stained and did not present a good outlook.
4. The sofa in 208 was not presentable and looked like they were purchased from a second hand store. Better not to have a sofa rather than a old dowdy looking one.
5. The windows were not clean and contained dirt and dust, especially on the outside.
6. Rooms are non smoking but we can smell the tobacco smoke.

Apart from the above, the gentlemen (Hani, Gaby, Ali) that we met who were managing the place were very friendly and helpful. They did all that we asked.

Room Tip: Close a room on the upper floor and at the back of the building - it's a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gohgohmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I hate the wifi here since I have to stay for more than 1 month. The Internet is painfully slow and unstable. I fail to connect to the wifi all the time. And you can't login the wifi for both your phone and laptop because they only give me one code, which is £5.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Rae0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

My default place to stay in London on my visit. Centrally located and within walking distance to Baker Street Tube, Marble Arch, Hyde Park and Oxford Street.
Simple kitchenette is perfect for people whom enjoy whipping up a simple meal after a long day out and about in London.
Stayed in the Family room which has a Queen Bed and 2 Single beds overlooking Gloucester Place.
Had issue with the TV Set top box and had to called for help on Saturday evening and within minutes problem was resolved.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Stefan_Pun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We had been here for 10 days. Very helpful teem, the beds were comfort and room was big. Small but satisfied kitchen in separate room. Good location, 8 minutes walk with kids to several Underground locations (Marvel Arch,Baker Street). The furniture little bit old, but everything is clean. Good Solution for families that want to eat their on breakfast that their kids like

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Svetlana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Excellent location equidistant to Oxford street and Baker Street station. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help in finding answers to all our questions.
My wife and I spent 4 nights in the spotlessly clean, reasonably sized room with a small kitchen and its all necessary amenities. The only fault we found was in the shortage of available TV stations.

Room Tip: Ours was on the lower floor and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dardarOmer_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#291 of 1,077 in London
7,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#50 of 923 in London
588 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Residence Hotel

Address: 42-44 Gloucester Place, London W1U 8HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing