We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
542
622
154
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
622
154
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oxford street great portland street self catering kitchen bunk beds fantastic hostel youth hostel common room shared room no wifi in the rooms swipe card private bathroom top bunk luggage room toilet and shower common areas free wifi regents park
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Great staff, always willing to help you, the hostel is super clean and practical to stay and use.
The location its super central and the facilities are comfortable, beds have plugs to charge anything. Great Job.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank martinmv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, Front Office Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear Martin,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are really happy to know you've felt welcome - your comments have been shared with the team and everyone was thrilled to hear them! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Lina Valeviciute
YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I couldn't have asked for more. Really nice vibe to this place where staff and customers are relaxed and yet everything is in order.

Clean, tidy and spacious and the location couldn't be better. It's quiet enough to get a good nights sleep and yet you're bang central.....Oxford Circus, Soho etcetera is a 5 minute walk and there are plenty of shops/restaurants on your doorstep.

Thank you staff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richardlives76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Hello dear Richard

First of all let me thank you for placing such a glowing/amazing review about us we appreciate the feedback that will make us work harder.
We are very happy that you found the place spotless (housekeeping team is delighted), that you enjoyed our facilities and our great location.
We hope to see you very soon

Thank you once more

Best regards

Hugo Ferreira-Yha London central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I absolutely enjoyed staying in the YHA London Central. The staff was always so nice and available if we needed, the 24 hours reception is amazing because there were always people around. The rooms were very clean and so were the bathrooms, even tought our bathroom had a slight problem and we had to take showers in the public bathrooms, it was okay. The elevator is a plus because climbing five layers of stairs is a pain. Me and my friends have decided that if we ever go back to Londom, we hope so, we will stay in this hostel again! Cheers from Portugal.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank sofs_mks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017
Google Translation

Ola querida Sofia

Primeiro de tudo deixe-me agradecer pela maravilhosa review sobre o nosso hostel ficamos muito contentes por saber que teve uma optima estadia e que o nosso staff tudo fez para a melhorar ainda mais.
Passei o feedback para o resto da equipa que ficou bastante feliz por saber da sua optima estadia e por saber que achou o hostel muito limpo em geral (em especial a equipa de limpeza).
Relativamente a casa de banho com a qual teve problema nos pedimos imensas desculpas e um problema que actualmente se encontra resolvido e se tivermos o prazer de vos ter mais uma vez a ficar no nosso hostel nao irao experienciar o mesmo problema.

Esperamos ter a vossa companhia brevemente

Melhores cumprimentos

Hugo Ferreira-London central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I booked for one night as I regularly have early hospital appointments and is easier for me to stay in the city.

I booked a private bedroom as sleep is important to me.

The room itself was good upon arrival. Clean and although basic, had what I needed. Well, except that online it stated a wash basin was in the room and this wasn't the case. Good amount of space and lots of plug points, which I appreciate.

I didn't eat dinner at the hostel, although meals and snacks are offered, I went for dinner at the nearby Nandos.

The huge downside for me became apparent when it came to sleeping. The bedrooms in the basement are on top of a vast network of railway lines and you can hear every single train as if you were on it yourself. Further to this I had the pleasure of hearing staff emptying bottle bins late in to the night and coming and going frequently as the room is next to a staff area. The bed was very uncomfortable, particularly the pillows, eventually I worked out to use the spare duvet as a pillow, but this was too little too late. The room was also very hot and despite air conditioning being available it would appear it is on a timer through the evening so this could not alleviate ones pain. The lack of window and lack of air con made things more uncomfortable.

I don't think the 3 basement rooms should be used as bedrooms personally and I certainly begrudge paying a premium for a room with so many disturbances.

Breakfast was good. A warmed croissant and a variety of cereal, toast, fruit and some cheeses to accompany.

If I would have been able to sleep my score would have been higher. That being said, the other facilities being good value for money is why my score is as it is, normally no sleep = lowest score.

I would stay again, in a different room. The location is certainly fantastic and the staff were all helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank 221rosiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, YHA London Central Team at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Hello Rosie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for our hostel.
It is great to read that you found or staff to be helpful, our location convenient and that you feel we offer value for money.
We are deeply sorry to read that you experienced discomfort during your stay.
Please on your next stay with us, if you are experiencing any problems at all with your room please inform one of our staff at reception and we'll be delighted to help you by any means within our grasp.

Ovi - YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

this hotel is very accessable to all and the staff is are really great specially laura been here touring around london and checking the shops around oxford aside that is cheap and clean i would highly recommend this hotel .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank myluv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, London Central Team at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words, we'll be sure to pass on your message to Laura
On your next trip to London we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Ovi - YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews