We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great”
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #16 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2017

If you are looking for staying in London for a few days without spending too much for your accomodation, this hostel is what you looking for. I was there with three friends of mine and we felt really confortable in relation to what we spent. The hostel is in Soho, next to Oxford street underground station. We had a four beds room with our private bathroom, a not so easy to find situation in other hostels around that area. There is a hall with wi-fi connection (no wifi in the room). In the end, this hostel is cheap, good located and well organized. Strongly suggested for a cheap stay in downtown London.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank alabamawithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, Front Office Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing feedback on your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team and everyone was thrilled to hear them! We are also happy to read you enjoyed our location and you would recommend us, thank you.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Lina Valeviciute
YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Great staff, always willing to help you, the hostel is super clean and practical to stay and use.
The location its super central and the facilities are comfortable, beds have plugs to charge anything. Great Job.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank martinmv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, Front Office Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear Martin,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are really happy to know you've felt welcome - your comments have been shared with the team and everyone was thrilled to hear them! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Lina Valeviciute
YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I couldn't have asked for more. Really nice vibe to this place where staff and customers are relaxed and yet everything is in order.

Clean, tidy and spacious and the location couldn't be better. It's quiet enough to get a good nights sleep and yet you're bang central.....Oxford Circus, Soho etcetera is a 5 minute walk and there are plenty of shops/restaurants on your doorstep.

Thank you staff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richardlives76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Hello dear Richard

First of all let me thank you for placing such a glowing/amazing review about us we appreciate the feedback that will make us work harder.
We are very happy that you found the place spotless (housekeeping team is delighted), that you enjoyed our facilities and our great location.
We hope to see you very soon

Thank you once more

Best regards

Hugo Ferreira-Yha London central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I absolutely enjoyed staying in the YHA London Central. The staff was always so nice and available if we needed, the 24 hours reception is amazing because there were always people around. The rooms were very clean and so were the bathrooms, even tought our bathroom had a slight problem and we had to take showers in the public bathrooms, it was okay. The elevator is a plus because climbing five layers of stairs is a pain. Me and my friends have decided that if we ever go back to Londom, we hope so, we will stay in this hostel again! Cheers from Portugal.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank sofs_mks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017
Google Translation

Ola querida Sofia

Primeiro de tudo deixe-me agradecer pela maravilhosa review sobre o nosso hostel ficamos muito contentes por saber que teve uma optima estadia e que o nosso staff tudo fez para a melhorar ainda mais.
Passei o feedback para o resto da equipa que ficou bastante feliz por saber da sua optima estadia e por saber que achou o hostel muito limpo em geral (em especial a equipa de limpeza).
Relativamente a casa de banho com a qual teve problema nos pedimos imensas desculpas e um problema que actualmente se encontra resolvido e se tivermos o prazer de vos ter mais uma vez a ficar no nosso hostel nao irao experienciar o mesmo problema.

Esperamos ter a vossa companhia brevemente

Melhores cumprimentos

Hugo Ferreira-London central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I booked for one night as I regularly have early hospital appointments and is easier for me to stay in the city.

I booked a private bedroom as sleep is important to me.

The room itself was good upon arrival. Clean and although basic, had what I needed. Well, except that online it stated a wash basin was in the room and this wasn't the case. Good amount of space and lots of plug points, which I appreciate.

I didn't eat dinner at the hostel, although meals and snacks are offered, I went for dinner at the nearby Nandos.

The huge downside for me became apparent when it came to sleeping. The bedrooms in the basement are on top of a vast network of railway lines and you can hear every single train as if you were on it yourself. Further to this I had the pleasure of hearing staff emptying bottle bins late in to the night and coming and going frequently as the room is next to a staff area. The bed was very uncomfortable, particularly the pillows, eventually I worked out to use the spare duvet as a pillow, but this was too little too late. The room was also very hot and despite air conditioning being available it would appear it is on a timer through the evening so this could not alleviate ones pain. The lack of window and lack of air con made things more uncomfortable.

I don't think the 3 basement rooms should be used as bedrooms personally and I certainly begrudge paying a premium for a room with so many disturbances.

Breakfast was good. A warmed croissant and a variety of cereal, toast, fruit and some cheeses to accompany.

If I would have been able to sleep my score would have been higher. That being said, the other facilities being good value for money is why my score is as it is, normally no sleep = lowest score.

I would stay again, in a different room. The location is certainly fantastic and the staff were all helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaA7991, YHA London Central Team at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Hello Rosie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for our hostel.
It is great to read that you found or staff to be helpful, our location convenient and that you feel we offer value for money.
We are deeply sorry to read that you experienced discomfort during your stay.
Please on your next stay with us, if you are experiencing any problems at all with your room please inform one of our staff at reception and we'll be delighted to help you by any means within our grasp.

Ovi - YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#42 of 956 in London
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 956 in London
660 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#22 of 956 in London
767 reviews
Safestay
#18 of 956 in London
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: RM 126 - RM 808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing