We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Court Studios
Ranked #542 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Location is great. The hotel is quiet and the room we had was bigger than we expected. Kitchen is in another space so you don't have to cook in your bedroom. The bathroom was extremely tiny and it was hard to move inside even for a thin person like me and there was no working heater. The lowest point was the room smelled badly and we got rid of the smell with oust. The blanket was dirty and it smelled badly too.The building is very old and it needs renovation works. On a positive note, the staff is very kind and always there to help.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside are less quiet because of the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishoy F, Manager at Palace Court Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

This Guest actually booked through booking.com.
the guest turned up after the check in hours, the reception was closed.
in the following day, we reported this booking as no show and we charged a no show fees as it's stated in their booking.
the guest turned up after this point, they refused to pay the all booking amount, claiming that they made a phone call advising they will be late. in fact this was just a lie, they refused to stay and they left the property.
therefore the review they published on trip adviser is totally wrong and nothing related to reality in terms of customer service and the story steps.
the guest failed to leave a review on booking.com because the booking is reported No show.
so the only way to write a false review is here on trip adviser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Good location is about the only good thing about this place! Bathrooms are TINY and the windows are so old they let a lot of cold air in!

Our room was cold so we plugged in the mini heater which was in the wardrobe. This then set into flames and filled our room with black smoke!! After taking this to reception they told us we should not have used this as there is a heater built in the room already! Staff are TERRIBLE!!!!

Shabby carpets and walls etc! Beds are also very uncomfortable! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Clean, with free WIFI. The studio apartment is great. Locations is good. Walking distand to Nothing hill and queensway just a stoll away as well as hyde park. Very good. The down side is sometimes we only were given small towel for bath. The heater and the hot water in the room work wondefully! Keep us nice and warm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank LonSusie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed for 1 night and chose to stay here based on cost. It was approximately half the price of a good hotel nearby. The location is good, about 5mins walk from Queensway tube station, and with it Hyde park. The apartments are more a bedroom with a separate bathroom and tiny kitchen but were clean. The whole place could clearly do with a huge amount of work - woodchip wallpaper, flaking paint, ropey old carpets in the hallway.

In all I felt like I was back in my student accommodation!

However, if you want somewhere to put your head down at night, that you can make your own food in, in a central location at a cheap price it was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drboothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Although the rooms (we were told our room wasn't ready when we arrived, and were allocated another for the first night!) were pretty basic, they did have all you needed, and bathroom, kitchen, bedding and towels were spotless. The location was fantastic, 5 minutes from the tube and on popular bus routess, and, though on a busy road, the traffic noise was not intrusive. Other residents were quiet and considerate. Staff at reception were pleasant. If you are happy with a "no-frills but excellent essentials" arrangement, give it a try. Next time, I will take a teatowel and a hair drier, that's about all I missed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 928 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Court Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Court Studios

Address: 1 Palace Court | Bayswater Road, London W2 4LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: RM225 - RM1,971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Court Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Palace Court Studios Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing