We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking after lockdown”

GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield
Get food delivered
Ranked #1,766 of 1,862 Quick Bites in London
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I thought the world was closed at the moment and hospitality was just about emotionless takeaway grabbed from a counter top.
And then I went to Gails Earlsfield and found the smiliest team of great professionals who have brightened up every morning for me and my daughter for the last year. They take the coffee far more seriously than my understanding. I just know it’s awesome. The pastries are always made fresh by the guys all rotating stations with shifts so they are skilled at everything and they take real pride in it. Delicious.
Marta and Editya have made the morning outing for coffee with my little girl the best bit of the day. The whole team are kind and we will never forget the last year being looked after by Gails so well. Thank you all so much, Nick

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank K4820MJnicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAIL's Bakery, Marketing at GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our bakery, our team will be thrilled with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2020

We stopped for a coffee mainly because we know the Wimbledon branch, assuming the standard of coffee and service would be similar. This is perhaps a training issue but as well as a lukewarm coffee we cannot recommend the service. I was given funny looks by staff for asking if I could have a cloth to wipe a dirty table, I was then called back after taking my coffees and felt reprimanded as it was loudly announced to the queue that I had not paid ( the card transaction had not gone through and the server had not noticed at first) . When someone finally arrived with a cloth to clean the table we were told they would wipe it for us, but we had to get out of her way first... I would suggest some customer service training, as well as a barista refresher, as we were made to feel they were doing us a favour by letting us buy a couple of not very nice and overpriced flat whites .

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020


We’re sorry and disappointed to learn about your experience with our team and rest assured that we will address your feedback with the bakery manager. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again, and we do encourage you to contact breadheads@gailsbread.co.uk if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Staff at Queens park and Westbourne grove have a serious issue with understanding what representation of their employers. They all seem to feel they are above being polite or friendly and look down their noses at you if you buy one cake or one roll! As bad as selfridges Dior staff - news flash Your Not the owners! Your just ordinary but rather less appealing human beings get over yourselves jumped up nobody’s...

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank HollandPk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

We’re sorry and disappointed to learn about your experience with our team and rest assured that we will address your feedback with the bakery manager. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again, and we do encourage you to contact breadheads@gailsbread.co.uk if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2020

I had a flat white _ which was cold - and a minuscule salami on a cream bun, £5.50 all in. I know it's London but this is crazy prices.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terrygparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you for your review. We are committed to providing our customers with a positive experience, however, it does seem that we missed the mark during your visit. We apologise for this and please feel free to email breadheads@gailsbread.co.uk if you'd like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

Great baked goods, good coffee but the playlists can do your head in! Why so loud? Its massively stressful, but possibly because they like to turnover customers who tend to use the cafe as a workspace? Thing is, you want people to keep coming, dont you, and come back. A buzz is great, but blaring beat is not that.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank IndustrialWriterJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2019

We are really sorry you are found the music too loud. We will make sure the team keep it at a level comfortable for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield also viewed

 

Been to GAIL's Bakery Earlsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.