We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unorganised chaos”

SEA LIFE London Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.93*
and up
Skip the Line: Sea Life London Aquarium
Ranked #566 of 1,815 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Let your imagination soar as you explore the wonderful riches of underwater life, from the beautiful coral reefs of the Indian Ocean to the dark, mysterious depths of the Atlantic and Pacific. During your visit be sure to take in a feed or two! There are animal feeds taking place throughout the day in different areas of the attraction so you can see for yourself just how sharp a Piranhas teeth are, what a Seahorse eats and how many fish it takes to satisfy a hungry Gentoo Penguin! Every feed is accompanied by a family-friendly, fact-filled talk by a member of our Guest Experience team; To ensure that you leave with a head filled with amazing discoveries and cool creature facts! Talk and feed times are subject to change. To be sure you won't miss a thing, please enquire about your favourite animal feed on entry.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my family as part of a birthday celebration. Had a pre-booked time slot but the queue was extremely unorganised with staff having no control. There were no indications to which time slot was being admitted and we were left to stand to the side in the pouring rain to wait.
Once inside the experience was spoilt by other visitors having no awareness of who was around them and blocking access to a lot of exhibits.
The lack of staff inside meant that there was no organisation and no way to manoeuvre around easily.
When we finally foind our way out we were left to carry our wheelchair down a flight of steps.
Having been here previously I was looking forward to coming here but felt that the visit left us feeling angry and put a downer on the day.

Thank SPW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Manager at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear SPW1979

Thank you for leaving us a review on your most recent visit to SEA LIFE London.

As we are in our high season over Easter, demand for tickets is very high and this in turn draws a large volume of people to our attraction. We do limit the amount of people we allow to enter by allocating a timeslot to each of our guests to alleviate the congestion when inside.

We do ask guests to arrive for their timeslots on time and unfortunately we cannot allow entry to those who have arrived before their allocated time, hence why there were lots of people on the south bank that day. We do have staff manning all queue lines and on site security to answer any questions or concerns you may have had on the day.

Once again I do thank you for your review and apologise if you feel the service you expected was not received on the day of your visit. If you wish to discuss this further please do email us at SLLondon@merlinentertainments.biz

Kind regards
Spencer
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
SEA LIFE London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shark tank"
in 206 reviews
"star fish"
in 75 reviews
"big tank"
in 51 reviews
"different species"
in 64 reviews
"london eye"
in 324 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 103 reviews
"merlin pass"
in 62 reviews
"glass floor"
in 91 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 111 reviews
"london dungeon"
in 52 reviews
"great attraction"
in 49 reviews
"rainy day"
in 68 reviews
"other attractions"
in 50 reviews
"jellyfish"
in 180 reviews
"creatures"
in 154 reviews
"voucher"
in 250 reviews
"seahorse"
in 56 reviews
Filter

65 - 69 of 5,668 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve visited aquariums all over the world, but this has to be the most overcrowded one we’ve been to. We bought a Fast Track ticket and were impressed by how quickly we entered. Unfortunately, level -2 was too crowded, however level -1 was ok.

The exhibits were good and there was a lot of variety - they just need to restrict the large volumes of people a bit.

Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Manager at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andy K

Thank you for leaving us a review on your most recent visit to SEA LIFE London.

As we are in our high season due to the holidays we are getting a large volume of people who enter our attraction. We do, however, limit the amount of people we allow in to the attraction by allocating time slots for our guests. I am sorry to hear that you felt the area was too crowded on the day of your visit but I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed having a look at all of our weird and wonderful creatures.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Spencer
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
SEA LIFE London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a good visit but can be too busy. Silly queuing even though we had tickets in advance we were told to join a queue so we missed our time slot. Need to train your staff better and get MANY more staff at the front entrance and ticket desks.

Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Product Excellence at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Iain P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at SEA LIFE London.

I do apologise if you felt disappointed about the queuing system during your visit. During peak times, such as the holidays, we do have a higher guest volume than usual, although please be rest assured that we do endeavour to get through any queue as quickly as we can. We do run on a time-slot system as we do need to monitor the amount of guests that can go in the aquarium at any one time. I am pleased to hear though that you still enjoyed the aquarium once inside.

If you would like to discuss your feedback, please do contact us directly at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz.

Kind Regards,
Luke
Product Excellence
SEA LIFE London | County Hall | Westminster Bridge Road | SE1 7PB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to visit the aquarium yesterday. Knew it would be busy but was pleasantly surprised that the queue wasn’t too long to buy tickets.
Started queuing at 2pm and finally served at 2.45pm because there was only one person serving “on the day” tickets (on Easter bank holiday weekend!) and each transaction was taking approx 10
Minutes each because Merlin seem to try and confuse/upsell to all the tourists just trying to buy a ticket for an attraction.
Finally there were only two families in front of us - one family took FIFTEEN minutes to process but were given tickets for 3.45pm access, up next a couple which took TEN minutes to serve and who were offered 4pm tickets. Finally, 45 minutes later it was our turn - where we were very disappointed to discover that we were only able to get 5pm tickets! Seeing as the attraction closed at 6pm this was ridiculous. Shocked at an over 2 hour wait we were given no explanation other than a shrug for the useless sales assistant.
I would have booked online but the mobile website was not working.
What a complete waste of a day and a VERY disappointed 4 year old.

Thank KatieKateW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Manager at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KatieKateW

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your most recent visit to SEA LIFE London.

I would like to emphasis how disappointed I was reading some of your comments in your review. Easter, and school holidays in general, are notoriously busy for any major London attraction and so our visitor numbers are substantially higher during this time. We limit the amount of people that we allow entering our attraction by allocating a time slot to each guest. Do to online ticket sales and various ticket types we have at our attraction they do all add up and eat into our allocation for on the day sales which is why your wait for a time was extended for which we do apologise.

Over the whole Easter period we haven't had only 1 person serving at any point over our peak season as we do appreciate how busy it can be and want to ensure all of our guests have a fair chance of obtaining entry on the day. We do always encourage for our guests to pre-book online for their visits as entry cannot be guaranteed on the day due to high demand however allocations do sell out in advance for this too so the earlier you book the better which is why you may have experienced difficulty when attempting to book online with us.

We have a fantastic range of attractions here in London and we do not want any of our guests to miss out on these and our incredible offers so we will try to converse with our guests to let them know the best deals for them on the day which I am sure you can appreciate.

Once again thank you for leaving us a review and if you would like to discuss further please email us at SLLondon@merlinentertainments.biz

Kind regards
Spencer
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
SEA LIFE London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was taking my 6yr old son on a weekend to London and wanted to take him to the aquarium. We booked our tickets online a few days before, but had to collect our tickets at the aquarium for some reason and no option to do anything else.
We got there an hour before our slot and joined the back of a very, very long queue!
I queued for an hour with a very unhappy 6 year old. After only having moved about half way in an hour, I gave up and left as enough was enough!
On the way past the actual entrance I stopped a staff member to vent my frustration and annoyance. To her credit, she immediately took ownership of us and helped us get our tickets immediately and go straight in. No one else was any help or willing to do anything.
Once we got inside, we then had to queue again for a photo (which we didn't want) and at the end they couldn't find our photo anyway so a waste of time!
Once inside the actual display, it's really good. My son loved touching the Starfish and seeing all the different fish and animals and the rainforest exhibition was really good too.
It's quite good once inside but the whole experience was ruined by poor organisation and lack of helpful staff.

Thank KeirSpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLAquarium, Manager at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KeirSpiller

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your most recent visit to SEA LIFE London.

I was concerned to hear some of the comments that you have made regarding your ticket collection. When booking the tickets online we do offer 2 options for ticket collection. One is for collect at attraction and one is for Print at Home/Mobile Tickets. We do highlight at the point of sale that we strongly recommend using the Print at Home/Mobile ticket access to avoid any queuing when arriving at your chosen time.

I will bring up your concerns to our photography department regarding your frustration at not having a photo upon your exit.

I am happy to hear that once inside that you did have a really good time and enjoyed meeting our creatures! It's also great to hear some lovely feedback on our brand new Rainforest Adventure, so thank you.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Spencer
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
SEA LIFE London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SEA LIFE London Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to SEA LIFE London Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing