We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Still going strong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phantom of The Opera London

Phantom of The Opera London
Book In Advance
US$71.29*
and up
Phantom of the Opera Theater Show
Ranked #4 of 333 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Far beneath the majesty and splendor of the Paris Opera House, hides the Phantom in a shadowy existence. Shamed by his physical appearance and feared by all, the love he holds for his beautiful protegee Christine Daae is so strong that even her heart cannot resist. The musical opened at Her Majesty's Theatre on 9 October 1986 with Michael Crawford and Sarah Brightman in the leading roles, and there have been dozens of productions worldwide since then. Now in its 26th record-breaking year, The Phantom of the Opera continues to captivate audiences at Her Majesty's Theatre in London's West End, after more than 10,000 performances. Andrew Lloyd Webber's mesmerizing score along with jaw-dropping scenery and breathtaking special effects, magically combine to bring this tragic love story to life each night.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Bergen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

There´s a good reason this show keeps selling out the house every night after all these years. Excellent performance, think I need to see it again next time we visit London!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank magnum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,635
    886
    247
    83
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Beautiful show, highly reccommended, a really stunning performance!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

2012 was the 25th anniversary of Phantom of the Opera. After watching the show, it was clear how this musical could still stand strong after 25 years of performance.
The plot is nothing fantastic, but the presentation of the actors, the catchy songs, the fancy costumes, the colourful moving backdrops and props, and the dark humour between the lines kept the audience on their feet for the whole of 2.5 hours.
But make sure you get circle seats or centre stall seats. There are some flying scenes that you will miss if your view is obstructed by the ceiling.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Even my husband loved it and he states he hates musicals and even threatened to listen to his iPod throughout but has raved about it to everyone! He didn't use his iPod once!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clarey1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A true love story!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have been to see the Phantom of the Opera 5 times now and every time it is just amazing!! The first time my partner took me to see the show I had heard of it but didn't really know anything about it....OMG WOW it was truly amazing, I cried as I do every time. The staging is amazing, the story is something most people can relate to. It is my favourite and I could watch it over and over again. The actors are always amazing every time we go I can't say a single bad word against it.

We were very lucky to get to see the 25th anniversary of the show at Albert Hall and although it was really amazing and the sound is superb however there is something about Her Majesty's Theatre that just makes such a difference.

I would highly recommend seeing the show, I am sure that once you've seen it once you will want to keep going back. It is well written, the songs are perfect, I can't say enough about it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phantom of The Opera London also viewed

 

Been to Phantom of The Opera London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing