We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a week of royal indulgence”
Review of Hotel 41

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 41
Ranked #1 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I wanted to stay somewhere close to Buckingham Palace where I would be attending a ceremony to receive my CBE. This hotel could not be closer, opposite the Royal Mews and only a few minutes walk to the Palace gates. I booked 3 nights in a Junior Suite taking advantage of the 3 nights for 2 suite offer. My Aunt came down from Scotland for the event and we arrived on the Monday afternoon to a warm welcome and a glass of champagne. Contrary to a recent review we found the staff to be very genuine, friendly and eager to make our stay the very best that it could be. The suite was great and being split level, felt like a little flat. We arrived to tropical fruit and bottle of champagne on ice. We felt immediately relaxed and enjoyed our beauty sleep in preparation of the big day. After the investiture we all enjoyed a few bottles of champagne in front of the open fire in the executive lounge which was perfect. As well as attending a number of shows we made sure that we had a few nights in so that we could really enjoy the Hotel 41 experience which included watching a film in the jacuzzi bath (not together!) and the 'plunder the pantry' (together!) which is the complimentary goodies served from 8.30pm - 1.am; smoked salmon, pate, individual shepherds pie's, bread, cheese etc and the honesty bar. On our last night we chatted until 1am in front of the fire before our last sleep in the mammoth uber king size bed. We were enjoying it so much that we stayed on for an extra night. Of course now it is hard to imagine staying anywhere else and i would rather go here once every 2 years than have 4 stays elsewhere in the same time period. The standards of service are extremely high and all the breakfasts and other meals we had in our rooms were delicious. We enjoyed meeting a number of the staff and learning about their backgrounds and how they had come to Hotel 41 and found them all friendly, sincere and conscientious, a credit to the team. The housekeeping staff were also lovely and the turndown service meant coming home to a lit fire, soft music, candles and little treats. They really did make it the trip of a lifetime for us. I might start saving now for my 50th! Hotel 41 was the best choice. I visited the Royals and then got treated like one!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank macgirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,550 of 2,862 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Returning to our regular hotel - well, more of a return to our friends and the 41 family. We stay here about once a month on business in the city and occasionally include leisure. On this occasion, it was a sudden need to be in Town for an extra fitting for a mother-of-the-bride outfit. As always, the staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. Our visit happened to coincide with my birthday week, which we celebrated with dinner at a favourite restaurant. On our return, in addition to the card, there was a beautiful celebration turn down in our room, sincere felicitations from all the staff, including the housekeeper this morning. As usual, our every need was catered for and often anticipated. The raid the larder facility provided a late night cheese and port on the settee by the fireside. On a bitterly cold night, the warmth and care was hugely appreciated. Breakfast was excellent, and included a special tea which Lauren had sourced for us from a discussion during a previous visit. The lovely cold buffet was followed by omelette and crisp bacon, superb and rounded off a wonderful stay. Bless you, 41, you keep me sane.

Room Tip: One of several favourites, 4109
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My fiancée and I were excited to stay here after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor but unfortunately the hotel did not live up to its reputation. The room was cramped and overfurnished with ageing furniture. We were woken at 5am every morning by staff walking in the corridor beside our room. The breakfast was mediocre and on occasions cold, as it was brought up from the kitchen at the hotel next door. The service was variable. The manager was delightful and helpful but some if her staff felt the need to patronise us and lacked authenticity. I think this hotel is trying to capture a private club environment but it just doesn't work. I have stayedvat private London clubs in the past and this felt like a Disney version. Would not stay again!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Cgri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at Hotel 41, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of 41 on Tripadvisor. Any kind of feedback is always gratefully received, as it assists me in monitoring the service we provide and helps me seek to find improvement wherever necessary.

I really am very sorry that there were elements of your stay with us in November last year that you did not enjoy and that you found the style of 41 and the experience it provides not to be to your liking. It is true that 41 by nature differs in some ways from many of the more established 5 star hotels in London. At 41 we and many of our regular guests feel this to be one of the charms of 41 and our ability to provide something very unique amongst London 5 star hotels has won us many fans and regular guests over the years that 41 has opened its doors as a hotel.

I am disappointed to know that you were dissatisfied with the quality of our breakfast and am sorry that we did not have the opportunity to discuss this during your time at the hotel. We receive so many positive comments about our breakfast, which is actually prepared in kitchens unique to 41, albeit on the floor below the level of the Executive Lounge, where breakfast is served. This is not uncommon in many boutique hotels located in older buildings, as it allows us to provide a greater dining experience and menu choice than perhaps would be the case from a smaller kitchen

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured that I have taken on board your service comments and preferences and have reviewed each point with my team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible. I have also reiterated to them the importance of going about their duties with care and consideration for our in-house guests, which is a point I have highlighted particularly to my early housekeeping team, who start at 7am.

I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us and highlighting areas where improvement may be found.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This place is simply amazing!
The entrance is tucked away beside the Ruben's hotel and is essentially one of the floors of this establishment run separately.
The room we stayed in was the opulent Master Conservatory Suite which extends over two levels and boasts a massive skylight in the upstairs bedroom. A little noisy at night, but I suspect most places in central London are...

What sets this place apart though, are the people.
There is a lounge room constantly staffed by the most knowledgeable, helpful and friendly people of any place we've stayed.Bar none. Period.
They just welcomed us in, and made us feel at home right from the very start. Unobtrusive, but always immediately available.
The lounge and all of its amenities felt like a spacious extension of our room, and the staff made us feel just like we were staying with (ridiculously wealthy) dear friends.
Most certainly the best place to stay in London.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BradHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A return visitor to Hotel 41. I think what makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is the focus on a high quality service. Of course the prime location is also a key factor. If your looking for cheap - go somewhere else. But if your looking for a world class hotel with high guest service levels this hotel will not disappoint. Treat yourself.

Congrats to management and staff. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacestar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,481 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,811 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,346 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#1 Family Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: RM1,738 - RM5,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club-like atmosphere & 21st-century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing