We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grenville House Hotel
Ranked #1,022 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 August 2015

On arrival we see the same sign as others, go to the hotel next door for a key, first impressions was I did not feel good, went to reception and got our key and went to our room, front door key and room key did not work easy. We decided to make the most of the situation. We soon went out feeling uncomfortable being in the small room. In the morning it took about 10 minutes of running the water to get hot water, we could not get a reception on the tv, we had coffee on the first morning, only powdered milk, the next morning we did not have a drink as the cups had not been washed from the day before, and there were no spoons in the room. The bed was soft which gave me a bad back. Had breakfast on day two which consisted of cereal, toast and make yourself hot drinks. Would I return, no I wouldn't, not for the £100 a night. We also handed in on the first night my husbands iPad, there was a message in the room not to leave any phone, iPads, computers in the room, but to take them to reception, on the second morning we went to collect the iPad which they took a while to understand what we were asking for, when they finally understood us, he started looking and found it in a filing cabinet. Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed there one night and to be honest it's not the best,,
It's dirty,, and very very basic you need to see the bathroom to believe,,
Didn't have breakfast as I could not bring myself to eat there
If you don't mind roughing it then fine but you expect a bit more for the price they chargé regardless of it being London
Would sooner sleep in the street than there would probably be cleaner

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We actually made a reservation with Grenville Hotel, having arrived there, there was a sign to go next door to Guilford Hotel. Having spent all day at Great Ormond Street with my Grandson was really tired so got the key to a ROOM in the Guilford Hotel without questioning the fact about Grenville Hotel. The room smelt, the toilet was like you find on a building site with shower included, so did not use. The so called double bed was a 3/4 size, springs emerging out of the mattress and very old lumpy pillows. If I'd been in a better state of mind would've walked straight out. Having said this leaving in the morning words were said to guy on reception who said we could've changed rooms. WHY NOT GIVE A DECENT ROOM TO START WITH. It's disgusting that these places are allowed to have business and advertised on hotel websites. They should be properly checked out first, all the rooms, not just the ones that are obviously used just for show. I wish I had looked into this before actually paying for the room, it would have been better to have spent the extra £20 and stayed at a PROPER HOTEL down the road. You cannot call this place a HOTEL.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor room, very noisy, slept with case next door to as it kept rattling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

this hotel is a right dive no hot water for a week no shower its absolutely minging the staff are rude and unprofessional the place is so scummy and coffee tea but no milk what a hotel! its a shot hole!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. Other than that the place is dirty, the staff are rude and ignorant and the room I stayed in was mainly made up of mould.

Oh and the door didn't lock properly and could easily have been smashed in so it wasn't very safe,

Avoid!!!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#611 of 1,077 in London
262 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#953 of 1,077 in London
294 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#677 of 1,077 in London
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Farringdon
Travelodge London Farringdon
#287 of 1,077 in London
290 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#582 of 1,077 in London
1,006 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,077 in London
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grenville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenville House Hotel

Address: 4 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,022 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: RM366 - RM656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grenville House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grenville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenville Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing