We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, practical.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #799 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Booked here as did a well-priced family room close to the museums. Certainly it's a little tired but given the price we paid in that location it wasn't that surprising. Clean? Yes? Functional? Yes. Happy to stay there? Yes. Two children aged 7 and 8 meant it was a good place to spend the night - but it wouldn't be some Where is stay if a hotel experience was what I had been looking for. Staff were friendly enough but I'm not sure how effective they'd be in a crisis (whatever that might mean). Summary: good location, good price, clean; a little tired, a little outdated, good do with a bit of a makeover inside.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed here last October and came back as we enjoyed the stay. It started badly with the receptionist being unable to find the booking so she had to manually at the booking in. We were given one of the last rooms and it showed.

The room was very small, we had to shuffle around the room as it wasn't big enough for 2 people to move past each other. The tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked, the basin had a huge chip in it, the cabling for the TV was off the wall and the paintwork was chipped. When I said to the receptionist that I was disappointed I was pretty much told there was nothing they could do. Not value for money and I won't be back again. I'd book somewhere else if I had to choose again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Tired decor. Wallpaper missing, toilet leaking, tiny room, large a/c unit and a huge gap at the bottom of the room door all gave a poor impression.

I was expecting a 4 star hotel and a 4 poster bed in our deluxe double room, instead we had 2 single beds pushed together which took up most of the room space.

The reception staff were good and very helpful. The breakfast staff were indifferent bordering on rude. Breakfast was OK but not the best. All in all, although it served its purpose, the hotel was not what I was expecting and certainly does not deserve to call itself a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrabbyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Gainsborough Hotel over the weekend and I have to say the location is great, the premises are kept clean and are well equipped. What I think stands out the most is the friendliness of the staff, it was always a great pleasure to see and speak to Nuria at the reception, she shined with positivity!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gleb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed my 4 night stay at The Gainsborough! It was a bit tricky to find as it doesn’t have the typical hotel look, but is part of a block of row houses. The room was absolutely adequate with a very comfy bed and good linens. The breakfast buffet was good, staff were consistently helpful, particularly Nadia who worked at the front desk during the day. The location was excellent with easy access to the tube, trains and the hop on hop off bus.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank fdurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#668 of 1,077 in London
865 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#449 of 1,077 in London
824 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#224 of 1,077 in London
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,077 in London
1,030 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#628 of 1,077 in London
1,336 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#525 of 1,077 in London
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Address: 7-11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#398 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: RM473 - RM864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing