We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury(London)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$210
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments(London)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Point A Hotel, London Paddington(London)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Arch London(London)
US$341
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
US$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
58
126
127
106
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
126
127
106
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe south kensington tube stopnational history museumsuperb locationstayed for one nightfull englishvictoria
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We have stayed twice at the Gainsborough. Considering the location and price I'd say it's an excellent deal. I'll likely stay there again in the future. The staff - Nuric, Davor, Marco especially - were very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with the bathroom when we first arrived, and rather than ask us to be patient and wait for a plumber they moved us immediately to another (and for us a preferable) room. I like the proximity to the South Kensington tube stop and the museums in the area. The breakfast is minimal, but there are more than enough local restaurants to eat at to make that a trivial issue. The rooms are comfortable, though we did have the experience of being next to the noisy lift the first time. Internet is adequate, though a little slow. Could just be where we were located.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and being next to the lifty
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I rely like the englisc style of this hotel. Very god central posiscion in london. Ho mangiato very god anche se the cibo italiano is better. Thank to the staff for avermi helped with my bagagli. Arrivederci e grazie!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CristianoMalgioglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

I would like to thank Marco, Davor, Nuria, Nadia and the nice people in the breakfast room for the great care they took of me and my husband! They were extremely kind and helpful. They guided us and answered all our questions! It helped us to see nice places we would not else have seen!:) The rooms are small, and they more or less need refurbishment, therefore this hotel is not expensive, and the location is top!
We look forward to see these nice people again! Thank you once again!
Kind regards
Jan Morken & Jytte Toft Nielsen

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Jytte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

This hotel does have positives. It is a sensible price for the area, the Natural History museum and Science museum are on your doorstep and the reception staff were really friendly and helpful.
However, there were definite negatives. Firstly the room was very dated (so dated the decor is borderline back in fashion) with some bodged repairs, I can live with that for a budget price. I picked up a hygiene wrapped glass next to the tap and proceeded to drink a couple of glasses of tap water. Once my thirst was quenched I saw a tiny sticker below the shelf saying 'not drinking water.' I stay away a lot and this is the first time in the UK I've seen this (no need to worry, I wasn't ill after). Surely if you are saying it's not safe to drink then ideally provide a bottle of water and certainly don't put glasses right next to the taps! For these reasons I would've given 3 stars but I was put in a room next to the lift, the wall next to my bed was literally the lift shaft wall. Considering the lift is about as old as London it takes an age to travel up the few floors and sounds like it hasn't been oiled since the day it was installed. Therefore sleep was not an option, not ideal when I only spent about 9 hours in the room in total.

Room Tip: Avoid a room that is directly next to the lift
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liamw812017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Walked into reception, very nice and a warm welcome, my room was floor -1 (below ground) room No 20, the lift was small 2x people at best and the corridors to the room looked tired, small room the only window was almost 6ft up the wall, with boys playing football outside, quite a lot of noise (18.30hrs), first lamp I tried in the room didn't work so had to change over lamps. The room was well presented, clean and tidy, with a window would have been nice, the bathroom while small was clean and seemed fairly new, decent size shower. The bed has to be the worst I've slept on for a long time almost no cushioning, felt the hard board underneath.
Disappointing really especially as it looked very nice from the outside and the reception area, whilst on trip advisor to write this review I found the room for £86.00, I paid £115 a few days earlier on booking.com

Room Tip: Not room 20
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank WolfySimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews