We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real mess”
Review of Poppy Hana

Poppy Hana
Ranked #11,549 of 24,833 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I would never order anything from this place again. Chicken dry as a bone, (to the point where it was difficult to swallow), slimy sushi and soggy gyoza. Extremely disappointed with this meal, felt really cheated. Not worth a penny, would expect money back for food quality this poor.

    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Billy, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your visit. We are more than happy to resolve any issues as soon as you let a team member or Manager know. We are committed to providing great food and service. I'm sorry for any inconvenience and will try our best to provide you a better experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018

A nice, reasonably priced restaurant in Bermondsey. I like their vegetable curry and plum wine. It is not the best Japanese cuisine you can get in London but worth a visit for a nice meal out. The interior looks very tasteful and has recently been refurbished.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and the dishes on offer. We feel we offer great value for money to our customer. See you soon.

Poppy Hana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We visited when we were staying in Bermondsey at the end of Feb, it was heavily snowing so we went in on the off chance and found it reasonably priced and the food was really tasty. I recommend the ramen noodles the portion was very generous

Thank hoskingcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your experience and found our food to be of great value.

See you soon.
Poppy Hana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I live very local and I had the opportunity of eating at Poppy Hana a few times. it is generally Ok but they are definitely missing consistence. At times the service is really good and other times is really bad. The food never comes at the same time for everyone and by the time on of the guest receives the starter, the rest of the table has already received the main course. On my last visit they completely forgot to send my main course which in the end I did not ask for as it was already late. The food quality is quite good but they need to massively improve the service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giulaiaiai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We will pass your comments to our team and make improvements as necessary.
We hope to provide a more consistent service on your future visits.

Regards
Poppy Hana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

firts time i have done a review of a delivery meal and its hard work to be honest.1 hour and 50 minute from oder to delivery. obviously the tempura was cold and soggy- this isnt unexpected for though as tempura should only be served fresh hot and crispy. what was surprising on how meh that rest of the meal tasted- the udon noodles were drowned in some generic gloop that was not like anything i experienced in a world of japanese food before. The problem is, a meh delivery doesnt really indicate anything apart from a meh delivery. I suppoe i should only pass judgement when eating in the resturant itself. i may report back if i ever do that. i did not enjoy this meal at all i am afraid.

Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Poppy Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the delay in delivery you encountered. Please do try our food in our restaurant. We aim to provide a great experience.

Regards
Poppy Hana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppy Hana also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Poppy Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing