We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfy but room service was careless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton London Paddington
Ranked #407 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Was in London for two nights; arrived very late (11 PM) from Heathrow and loved the convenience and safety of the location - a few steps off the Heathrow Express. Not easy to see with all the construction - but right there. These was equally great for leaving on Friday morning. Right on top of the Underground station too. Could not have been more convenient. Just 15 minutes to Heathrow (and a mile and half walking to the gate in T2, but that is Heathrow!)
THe room was smallish but comfortable, after time on the continent I totally appreciate actual fluffy towels, but I do wish Western hotel chains would uniformly adopt the Western custom of including a topsheet with the overwarm Euro-duvet.

I wanted to use the door hangtag to preorder breakfast but did not see my favorite - oatmeal - listed. So I called room service and they said yes, they had oatmeal, feel free to order it. Rather than use the door hanger, I called the next morning and ordered oatmeal. 50 minutes later, there was no breakfast at my door. I called room service again and was told they don't have oatmeal, and offered a free breakfast. I ordered a full breakfast, which arrived with an apology (in the form of chocolate) within 10 minutes. IT was free. THe next night, I filled out the doortag for a full room service breakfast including some grapefruit amd shredded wheat cereal. The next morning, breakfast arrived ten minutes early (BAD thing in the morning). I was told there was no grapefruit but they brought some (pretty boring unripe melony) fruit salad instead. OK. THen I realized later they had forgotten my shredded wheat.They offered to send some up right away but I had no more time. Bummer. THEN when I had my final receipt mailed to me, I was charged for two breakfasts - one in room service, and one that morning in the restaurant . This was fixed by calling accounting - but I should NOT have to do that. Disappointing there.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank MidwestHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonLonPaddington, Guest Relations at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear MidwestHockeyFan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel; we really do appreciate all Guest feedback as it is only through comments such as your own that we are truly able to gauge how our Guests perceive our services and facilities.

We are disappointed to hear that there had been an issue with your in-room breakfast and for this we would like to extend our sincere apologies as this is not the usual level or standards that we aim to achieve.

We hope that in the near future you will allow us another opportunity to accommodate you at Paddington and please be assured that the relevant departments have been made aware of the issues you experienced and the management team will take further measures to improve their services.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write with your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely
Alex
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,288 of 4,046 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2015

I stayed in the new GWR towers room, and while the room was furnished the same as the promotional photos, the size of the room was much smaller. If you are given room 2206, ask for another one! The bathrooms were nice and very functional. storage in the room is minimal so you may be keeping some things in suitcases. I only ever went to the lounge for breakfast and found that to be quite adequate. Not a lavish buffet but a good selection for a normal breakfast. The staff kept the place clean and were quick to as if you wanted any eggs made to order. If you like a large cup of coffee, bring it with you.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonLonPaddington, Guest Relations at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Dear Richard G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our new GWR Tower rooms and thank you also for taking a few minutes to leave your review.

We are sorry to hear that the room size did not meet your expectations and for that we would like to apologise.

We hope you enjoyed your overall London visit and we look forward to seeing you in the Hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Alex
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Step off the Heathrow Express from a long flight in to the UK - you are in more or less the centre of London and in your hotel ; easy check in and the underground or other rail services are right there - rooms are spacious with high ceilings - not very common in London!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonLonPaddington, Guest Relations at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear Jamie W,

Thank you for taking the time to write such fantastic comments in your 5-star review. It is extremely rewarding to hear that our Guests have had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton London Paddington again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely
Alex
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Great location within Paddington station, with direct access from the station concourse and just 15 minutes from Heathrow. Easy access to London with tube lines and buses.
Booked a basic room, but it was generously sized (for London) with plenty of space to move around, though an inside view over nothing. However the room was nice and quiet even with the window open.
The room is well equipped with all standard items and was clean. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was OK, though the shower was variable. Sometimes there was hardly any water.
We had a rate with breakfast and the buffet was good, constantly replenished and serving staff generally keeping up with things, even though it was busy.
We didn't have any other meals in the hotel, with plenty of choices in the immediate neighbourhood.
Reception staff were all friendly and helpful.
This is a good hotel if you're coming in from Heathrow.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonLonPaddington, Guest Relations at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Dear catmouse,

Thank you for sharing a fabulous review of our Hotel. It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed your overall stay at Hilton London Paddington.

We look forward to welcome you back to Paddington in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Alex
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We booked an executive room, it was spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We went for happy hour in the executive lounge before dinner and this was also very pleasant with drinks and nibbles. However breakfast the next morning in the executive lounge was below standard. When we arrived, the scrambled eggs hot plate was empty. There was only one girl working in the lounge and she wasn't keeping an eye on the food at all. So after 20 minutes and with guests pouring into the lounge, I went to inform her that the eggs needed replenishing. I think the young girl needs some training as she never once came over to check the food and after another 10 minutes I went back to ask if the eggs were coming. Obviously needing more staff and someone with experience as she was not anticipating what was required.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonLonPaddington, Guest Relations at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear Sue H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel; we really do appreciate all guest feedback as it is only through comments such as your own that we are truly able to gauge how our guests perceive our services and facilities.

We are very disappointed to hear of your experience with the Executive Lounge on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies as this is not the usual level or standards that we aim to achieve.

Please be informed that the relevant department has been made aware of the situation and will put in place further training and ensure the improvement of the service in the Executive Lounge.

In the meantime please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Yours sincerely
Alex
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Paddington

Address: 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Business Hotel in London
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
#307 Family Hotel in London
#314 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: RM750 - RM1,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Paddington has the luxury of being located 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and is only a footbridge walk away from Paddington station. From the West End to the theatre District in London, nothing is too far away from this hotel. There is a fitness center and a business center with 18 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 350 guests. Hilton London Paddington also has Wi-Fi in each of the hotel rooms and throughout the rest of the hotel. When it comes to dining, choose from the Brasserie Restaurant or the late night chic Steam Bar, both of which provide excellent quality cuisine to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Paddington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Paddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing