We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay there again even if they paid me !!!”
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europa House Hotel
Ranked #831 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Rude receptionist (a lady who seemed prejudice/racialist against foreigners like Arabs); hotel has NO LIFTS so she made a point of giving me a room in the attic which was 6 flights of stairs and NO ONE TO HELP WITH THE LUGGAGE !!!

The fans in the rooms are inadequate to cool the rooms in the summer heat !!

Description of hotel on some websites says full breakfast = NOT TRUE! Only continental breakfast served from kitchen by staff (not even buffet!!).

Room Tip: NO LIFTS - 6 flights of stairs to top rooms; toilet extractor fans + pigeons outside windows (of som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this so called hotel for two nights in a triple room. Not at all as advertised on booking.com nothing worked in the room ruined our stay in London. The door lock was so loose you couldn't open or shut the door properly, the en suite had only one light working the toilet seat was broken and the cold water took 10 minutes to get cold, shaver point did not work and shower curtain was mouldy. The shower tap would not stay up so water kept turning off. The Dimensions of the en suite are 8 feet by 2.3 feet so with a sink, toilet and shower you could not dry yourself in it without hitting the walls ,the extractor was also not working. No where to put toiletries so the toilet seat doubled as a shelf and being a triple there were not enough places to hang wet towels etc. The ceiling fan had no blades on it , the kettle lead did not reach the plug so you had to put the kettle on the floor to boil it and you could not fill the kettle in the sink as it was too small. The plug socket between the beds was just a front plate (no insides) so not working. Mould and dirt in the bedside cabinet the wardrobe had dust and a blanket which was filthy we would not shut the door in case it was infested, total mis match of plastics hangers. Furniture was broken and the double bed kept separating when you sat on it and mattress needed replacing. Curtains were hanging off and the TV appeared to have been fixed to the wall either by someone cross eyed or drunk. Ensuite door was damaged where it was hitting the main door closer and the room was very old looking in need of some paint to fill the big cracks etc. Having been a police officer in London for over 30 years I have to say I have raided better looking 'Crack Houses' . Breakfast was a joke the full English advertised supplied did not exist and hasn't for over two years, when I challenged the staff they didn't want to know, I asked for the manager and was told they would try to arrange a refund as it wasn't their fault blaming booking.com and others for still showing it on their sites. It is still showing full English breakfast supplied on the internet so be warned!. I'm still waiting for a refund but I have no hopes of ever seeing it as they are lying people ripping off un suspecting customers. It is more of a bed sit property rather than a hotel and does not deserve any stars. The other thing that concerned me was the fire certificate behind the front desk from the GLC sure that they were disbanded in 1970s definitely don't exist nowadays. Overall I recommend that you don't stay her but if you do enquire about breakfast before you pay and secure a discount before you stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank cybercop2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of june as went to hyde park festival we was made very welcome room was clean stay couldnt do enough 2 help u very close to the station and hyde park breakfast was nice as well continental breakfast was served would stay here again very reasonable priced as well

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of June. It's a budget hotel so was not expect much. It was very handy for BST. It's very close to Paddington main line and the underground. We had a big basement room. Small private bathroom. Not a problem for us but they only provide soap so bring shower stuff. Hair dryer provided but not great. The bed was very comfortable plenty of pillowers and towels. We were at the front so a little noisey but not bad. We got woke up by the breakfast ladies but fell back to sleep. I say this because the ladies serving breakfast were just lovely. Very friendly and helpful. Nice little hotel for B&B. Please don't go expecting luxury. It's just clean basic and friendly.

Room Tip: Take toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexandra30028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We were dreading our stay here after reading the reviews, on arrival we were given the key to room 9 (triple room) we were quite surprised as the room was ok, very small but clean bathroom with plenty of towels and toilet paper, tv and a fan.
We would only stay here for one night as the whole hotel is a bit shabby with chipped paintwork and mis matched furniture but the staff were good even called a taxi for us on our departure.
All in all it's ok for one maybe two nights.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LiverpoolDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Queensway Hotel
#795 of 1,077 in London
323 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Europa House
Europa House
#571 of 1,077 in London
54 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#497 of 1,077 in London
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tudor Court Hotel
#821 of 1,077 in London
638 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#620 of 1,077 in London
473 reviews
The Belvedere
#680 of 1,077 in London
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: RM313 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing